Learn more
- Preserving materials with the LibrariesLearn more about how to preserve your materials.
- Tool guidesA set of guides written explaining how to use a variety of tools associated with digital records.
Digital Preservation Analyst
Digital preservation at the Libraries
The need to develop strategy and take action in the area of digital preservation and data archiving has grown significantly in the Libraries and at the University in recent years. In response, the Libraries aspire to take a campus leadership role in digital preservation and data archiving.
This work is accomplished through the delivery and support of robust high quality discovery, access, management, and preservation systems, achieved in coordination with relevant Libraries’ and campus departments, and other University and external partners and collaborators.
The mission is to provide contemporary and enduring access to digital objects under the collection stewardship of the University Libraries, through the application of professional digital preservation methodologies, standards, and technologies.
Digital Preservation Framework
The foundational document addressing how the Libraries approach digital preservation. Available to view online and as a printable PDF.
Practices and activities
Activities
Learn more about planning and development activities and the internal and external collaborations and partnerships.
Practices
Digital preservation is supported by our preservation strategies and implementation activities. Including preservation actions and preferred file formats.
Tool Guides
Created by University of Minnesota Libraries staff, instructional guides on how to use various digital preservation tools are provided as resources for others.
Glossary
Digital preservation related terms used in the Digital Preservation Framework and across this website are defined in this glossary.
Access repositories
Materials the Libraries is responsible for preserving can be found in various locations including:
- University of Minnesota Digital ConservancyThe University of Minnesota Digital Conservancy (UDC) is a venue for faculty to deposit open access copies of their scholarly work, a showcase for select student works, such as dissertations and honors theses, a home to the Data Repository for the University of Minnesota (DRUM), and centralized, searchable access to institutional digital records including those of the University of Minnesota Archives.
- UMediaUMedia includes digitized collections from the University of Minnesota Libraries, Archives and Special Collections.
- Minnesota Digital LibraryThe Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) supports discovery and education through access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. The Minnesota Digital Library also provides education and training opportunities concerning digitization best practices, metadata for digital collections, and digital preservation.
- Data Repository for the U of M (DRUM)DRUM is a publicly available collection of digital research data generated by U of M researchers, students, and staff. Anyone can search and download the data housed in the repository, instantly or by request.
Contact us
If you have any questions about digital preservation at the University of Minnesota Libraries please contact the digital preservation team at lib-dp@umn.edu and we will be happy to assist you.