Top pick for streaming video for MUS 1013 projects
TIPS: Not finding what you need in our streaming video databases?
The streaming video databases linked below include lots of content, but not everything. If you're not finding what you're looking for, try these other options:
- Search the Music Library's (and the wider University Libraries) DVD collections using the search box at lib.umn.edu. See the Tips for searching for physical recordings (CDs, LPs, DVDs, etc. tab of this guide for more information on searching for DVDs.
- Check the JustWatch site to see if the video/film/documentary you're looking for is available from a commerical streaming service (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, etc.)
- Try requesting a DVD from another library though Interlibrary Loan. See the Borrow books, scores, and recordings through Interlibrary Loan tab of the Finding Music Materials Guide for instructions on how to get started searching.
Find streaming video
The University of Minnesota Libraries offers access to a number of options for finding streaming video. Check below this list for more information on how to use several of these resources!
TIP: There's no need to search each of these resources individually to see if they have what you need. See the Locate materials in the Libraries catalog tab linked from the menu for this guide for guidance on searching for streaming recordings by title!
Tips for using Naxos Video Library
Naxos Video Library offers access to footage from concert, competitions, recording sessions, master classes, lectures, and more. They even have a selection of "Musical Journeys" that will take you on a virtual journey to a far-away concert hall, castle, vineyard, or mountainside:
The "Advanced Search" interface allows for more granular searching by role, venue, festival, production personnel and more:
Tips for using Medici.tv
Medici.tv is a fantastic place to find on-demand opera, ballet, master classes with major teachers and performers, documentaries, AND streams of live concerts from major venues around the world:
Though you can't create your own playlists in this resource, the Medicit.tv staff add new suggested playlists every week. There's always something new to watch, so check this resource often for new videos!
Tips for using Met Opera on Demand
Met Opera on Demand offers access to over 50 years of audio and video recordings from the Metropolitan Opera's archives, and it even includes some of the most recent productions in HD. Scroll down past the images of highlighted performances to find a search box that will allow you to search for specific composers and titles:
Scroll farther down and you'll find the options for browsing the resource by title, composer, or performer. Some titles are included as video and audio, and some as one or the other:
Once you've chosen an opera to watch/listen to, you'll find useful features and information in the record for it. Use the individual tracks on the right side of the video to navigate through the recording:
Met Opera on Demand also provides helpful information for citing a performance like the cast and performance date. This information is available below the video or audio player:
Tips for using Opera in Video, Classical Music in Video, Dance in Video, and Theatre in Video
The Alexander Street Press suite of video databases puts a world of concert music, opera, theatre, and dance at your fingertips. Each of these databases offers the option to search for specific titles or names using the search bar at the top, and the dropdown menu provides categories by which you can browse. Click the "Filter" icon to get started browsing:
The built in filters include options to limit by concerts, festivals, rehearsals, and other useful keywords, browse by composer or performer, and use the collections to discover performances, master classes, lectures, interviews, and more:
One of the great features of Alexander Street Press databases is that you can create a free account that will allow you to create playlists and make clips from longer recordings. To get started, click the sign in icon in the top right corner, then the "Sign in" button (more instructions on this coming soon!):