Your first stop for finding journal articles for your MUS 1804 project: JSTOR!
JSTOR is a fantastic place to start your search for journal articles:
- It includes the contents of a number of music-specific journals, as well as more general journals that also include music content (it will also be a helpful resource for your non-music classes in the future!)
- Everything you find in JSTOR is available as a full-text PDF that you can download directly from the database - though it doesn't include the most recent content for many journals.
- It's easy to locate - follow the link below or access JSTOR via the University Libraries homepage (lib.umn.edu):
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Remember: JSTOR does NOT include the most recent several years of many journals' contents, so you won't find the newest scholarship in this database. If you need to find newer articles, use the resources linked further down on this page!
Once you log into JSTOR, you have several options for finding content:
- Search by keyword: Know what you're looking for and want to search by keyword? Start here!
- Advanced Search: Getting too many results for your searches and want to narrow things down? Use "Advanced Search"!
- Browse by subject: Want to explore JSTOR's music-related journals? Try "Browse" and select the "By Subject" option
Need a more recent article than those available through JSTOR? Explore other journal databases!
The Libraries subscribes to a number of resources that will allow you to search keywords across multiple journal titles at the same time. Some of the most useful journal databases for music-related research are:
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full TextRILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of more than 200 periodicals.
- Music Index OnlineFind articles from 1979 to the present about music history, forms and types of music, musical instruments from ancient to modern, acoustic, electronic, and computer-produced music. Book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances, first performances, and obituaries are also included.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseFind articles from 350 international music journals, plus the New York Times and the Washington Post. Covers all types of music from classical to modern includes concert and music reviews. Useful for music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
TIP:
You'll often see a PDF icon or a link to download full text of articles through these databases, but sometimes, the Libraries will need to get a digital copy of an article for you from another library. If you don't see a PDF icon or link to download full text, click the maroon-and-gold M-Find It button to place an interlibrary loan request, and we'll send you a PDF in just a few days:
