Music Librarian
Looking audio content from a range of genres? Check out streaming services available through the Libraries!
The University of Minnesota Libraries offers access to a number of options for finding streaming audio. Check below this list for more information on how to use several of these resources!
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global SoundStream music online including the collections of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings with music from cultures all over the world.
- Contemporary World MusicWorld Music streams over 1.5 million audio tracks from about 130,000 albums, plus 22 videos. The content ranges from reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Naxos Music LibraryOnline collection of recorded music in streaming audio -- primarily classical music, plus smaller collections of world music and jazz.
Note: Users who create/use a personal Playlist account are required to log-in to the Library's Naxos website at least once every 6 months, to guarantee the re-authentication of their account. Accessing NML through the NML app is not considered re-authentication.
Another option for streaming recordings: BBC Radio 3 - Music Planet
- BBC Radio 3 - Music PlanetNot finding what you're looking for through the Libraries streaming platforms? Check out BBC Radio 3 - Music Planet!
Smithsonian Global Sound and Contemporary World Music
The interface for the Smithsonian Global Sound and Contemporary World Music databases looks similar - you can browse by title, genre, place, performer, and more. Use the search box in the middle of the page (not the one at the top!) to search in individual collections, and sign up for a free account to make playlists and create clips by clicking the "Sign in" icon at the top right corner:
Liner notes can be a great resource for your research! In Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound, you can find these accompanying select recordings by clicking on the "Related Documents" tab and locating the link to download the PDF of that recording's liner notes:
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is a great place to find hundreds of thousands of streaming audio tracks. The Naxos interface allows you to search for something specific; to browse by category (concerto, opera, ballet, blues, and many more); and to discover new music by checking out Naxos's suggested albums. If you're looking for a playlist created for your UMN Music History class by a faculty member, you'll also find these linked from the Naxos Music Library homepage.
Once you open an album in Naxos Music Library , select individual tracks or the whole album and start the player by clicking the large "Play" button on the right side of the screen. Many albums also include PDF versions of liner notes, which are great resources for music research! If there's a link that says "Booklet" on the left side of the screen, click it and you'll be directed to a PDF of the album's booklet. Lastly, Naxos gives you the information you'll need to cite the resource you're using; check for this under "Album Information" on the left side of the screen.
Not finding what you need?
The streaming audio databases linked above include lots of content, but not everything. If you're not finding what you're looking for, try these other options:
- To check out more University Libraries streaming video options, visit the Find Streaming Audio tab of our Music-Related Databases Guide.
- Search the Music Library's (and the wider University Libraries) CD collections using the search box at lib.umn.edu. See the Tips for searching for physical recordings (CDs, LPs, DVDs, etc. tab of this guide for more information on searching for DVDs.
- Try requesting a CD from another library though Interlibrary Loan. See the Borrow books, scores, and recordings through Interlibrary Loan tab of the Finding Music Materials Guide for instructions on how to get started searching.