Ask us
Ask Us
Health Sciences Library
Contact:
Phillips-Wangensteen Building
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
651-626-4045
Website
This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to the field of medicine that deals with the physical and mental health of the community.
Start a Research Project
- Library Research ChecklistCould you use a refresher on starting the library research process? Go to this page for a step-by-step description of the process.
- Search Strategy Checklist & TipsDefine the topic: know what you are looking for. Take the time to write down your topic and consider it from all angles. Try to be specific about what it is you want to discover about your topic (and more tips).
- Dissertation CalculatorEnter in the due date for your research project (paper, speech, lab report) and get a suggested timeline for completing with links to the resources to help you succeed in each step. Optional: sign up for reminder via text.
Find Information (Articles/Books/Drugs & Supplements)
Primary article databases
Start with:
- Ovid MEDLINESearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- CINAHL Ultimate (Nursing & Allied Health)Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
- APA PsycInfoFind articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Secondary Article Databases
Then try these:
- Embase / Embase ClassicEmbase is a biomedical and pharmacological database covering journal articles, conference proceedings, and gray literature. It is strong in its coverage of pharmaceutical research and international and non-English content. Covers 1947 to present.
- ScopusInterdisciplinary - covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseSearch journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM), and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases.
- PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary, scholarly research database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, and other resources. For public health students, this database is useful if your research is related to sociology, social work, and related social sciences.
Special Databases
Also consider these specialized resources:
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)Find surveys, tests, observation checklists, and questionnaires. Note: One user can access at a time.
Books/Background Information
- Clinical KeyContains clinical content (clinical overviews, drug monographs, calculators, guidelines) to help diagnose conditions and support decision-making. Also contains extensive current textbook, video, and multimedia content to facilitate deep background research. Create a personal account to download PDF book chapters.
- Access MedicineElectronic book (E-Book) collection of core basic sciences and clinical titles.
Drug & Supplement Information
- MICROMEDEXProvides access to drug information resources, including drug identification, packaging information, interaction and contraindication information, drug prices, international formulations, occupational safety sheets, safety in pregnancy, and more.
- Natmed Pro (previously titled Natural Medicines)Natural Medicines provides evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. Includes these databases: Foods, Herbs, & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Sports Medicine; Comparative Effectiveness; Manufacturers; Commercial Products; and Medical Conditions.
- Toxicology Resource GuideFor additional resources and instruction on searching for toxicology information, see the Libraries' Toxicology Guide.
Culturally appropriate health care
A person’s culture is multifaceted, and culturally appropriate care requires a holistic approach. Some important factors include religious fasting holidays, cultural views of mental illness, and family structures. Taken together, knowledge of these factors can support respectful conversations between providers and patients and enhance the health care experience.
- EthnoMedFind information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States. Access relevant information through the Cultural Profiles, Clinical Topic, or the multilingual Patient Education categories.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a consumer health database that has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Manage Citations
Citation Style Guides
- APA formatting and examples (From Purdue OWL)Examples of the APA citation style.
Citation Managers
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Tutorials
- Lunch with the Librarian Series for Public Health StudentsThe Public Health Librarian has created a series of tutorials to help build research skills. Grab your lunch and watch a one-hour session that includes topics such as literature searching, data management, systematic reviews, and data visualization.
Health Sciences Library (East Bank)
- Health Sciences Library
The Health Sciences Library in Phillips-Wangensteen Building includes collections for medicine, nursing, public health, dentistry, pharmacy, basic sciences, and more.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:39 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/publichealth