Remote help and contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Come in for Office Hours!
Walk-in to meet our Business Reference Associate on Wednesdays from 1:00PM to 3:00PM in Walter Library's Toaster Innovation Hub. Ask for help with resumes, cover letters, business articles, business data, marketing reports, and a lot more.
Business homepage
- Business information websiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Business Librarians
Find research databases and practitioner tools in support of your supply chain research.
Professional Content Sources
Locate professional content sources by subject (e.g., logistics & transportation, sourcing, etc).
Global Intelligence
- FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - EMIS ProfessionalFind company and industry information, reports, statistics, proprietary mergers and acquisitions, credit analytics, benchmark indicators and trend comparisons to help understand emerging markets.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 38-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (https://www.oecd.org/about/members-and-partners/). OECD iLibrary contains thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators, databases, and podcasts. All content will be Open Access beginning in July 2024. Content is also indexed via Policy Commons.
Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics - GlobalEDGECreated by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
- LPI - Logistics Performance IndexThe LPI is an interactive benchmarking tool created to help countries identify the challenges and opportunities they face in their performance on trade logistics and what they can do to improve their performance.
- Export.govExport.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today's global marketplace. Export.gov was created to provide better customer service for businesses interacting with the Federal Government. The U.S. Department of Commerce's International Trade Administration manages Export.gov as a collaborative effort with the 19 Federal Agencies that offer export assistance programs and services.
- World Trade Organization Statistics DatabaseThe World Trade Organization Statistics Database allows you to retrieve statistical information from 1948- in the following ways:
-The Trade Profiles section provides predefined information leaflets on the trade situation of members, observers and other selected economies;
-The Tariff Profiles provide information on the market access situation of members, observers and other selected economies.
-The Time Series section allows an interactive data retrieval of trade statistics. Available data sets include merchandise trade by commodity group from 1980- for individual countries.
- Policy CommonsSearch millions of documents on thousands of topics from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs as well as from North American cities. Featured topics include Black Lives Matter, COVID-19, Climate Change, Gender Equity, and reports from the 500 largest cities in North America. UMN access includes both the Global Think Tanks and North American City Reports modules.
- World Economic Outlook DatabaseThe WEO database from the International Monetary Fund is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the WEO publication, which is released in May and October. Selected series that are available in the publication are now available on this website at the time of the release of the WEO press version (late April and September). If necessary, these figures will be revised in order to maintain consistency with the published World Economic Outlook. NOTE: GDP and GDP per capita for all countries in current prices from 1970 (where data available) can be viewed from here.
Professional Sources for News
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new windowGet WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
- Financial Times (FT.com)News, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, a leading global business publication. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses at the link above.
- Economist, 1997-currentAccess to "The Economist" from July 1997 to the most recent issue.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
Regulatory Sources
- S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Supply Chain)University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. - FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - Bloomberg ProfessionalAccess to Bloomberg Professional is only available from terminals in Wilson or Walter libraries. See details below. News and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies.
Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster) - Bloomberg Law: Tax This link opens in a new windowTo access, contact busref@umn.edu to request a personal account. Access Tax Management Portfolios, integrated news, in-depth analysis and insights, primary sources, and practice tools, covering federal, state, international, payroll tax and more
- VitalLaw (formerly CCH Cheetah) This link opens in a new windowVitalLaw includes full-text primary sources of law with commentary, a variety of CCH and Aspen legal publications, smart charts, practical tools, news, webinars, white papers, and blogs. Practice areas covered include corporate & securities, labor & employment, intellectual property, healthcare, human resources, intellectual property and tax.
Content Research - Suppliers
- S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Supply Chain)University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. - Orbis (Company Research)
The University Libraries no longer subscribes to this resource due to economic sanctions required by Moody’s. For interglobal company data please visit EMIS Professional or Capital IQ Pro
Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes: financial strength metrics and projected financials, associated news and independent research, extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership, original filed documents, individuals associated with companies, global M&A deals and rumors. - Aftermarket Research (a module of S&P Capital IQ)Extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995). Note: UMN affiliated users will create an individual account through a self-registration process. Follow the steps after selecting from the link above.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. - Morningstar Institutional Equity Research (MIERS) (a module of PitchBook)Locate recent and historical equity research analysis by Morningstar covering more than 1500 stocks globally—across all sectors, industries, and regions. Report types include Market, Sector, Observer, Company and more. Access using your PitchBook account. Don't have a PitchBook account but want to sign up? Get detailed instruction on setting up an account at: libguides.umn.edu/pitchbook
- Bloomberg ProfessionalAccess to Bloomberg Professional is only available from terminals in Wilson or Walter libraries. See details below. News and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies.
Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster) - ProcurementIQAccess to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
Content - Transportation
- S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Supply Chain)University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsBrowse and search transportation data from the U.S. Department of Transportation.
- Center for Transportation StudiesCTS is the hub for transportation research and education at the University of Minnesota. It supports research in many disciplines, cultivates the transportation workforce, and shares new thinking with various stakeholders and audiences.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 38-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (https://www.oecd.org/about/members-and-partners/). OECD iLibrary contains thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators, databases, and podcasts. All content will be Open Access beginning in July 2024. Content is also indexed via Policy Commons.
Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics
- Supply Chain 247This pagebrings together some of the best minds in the industry and the latest News, Reports, Case Studies, White Papers, Webcasts, Research, and more!
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2024 9:23 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/scmguide2022