BIPOC Art and Architecture

An open access curriculum designed for discussions about racial history and racial injustice in the field of architecture. Poster series, sound recordings, and a digital image library are accessible on the website.

An online journal that is dedicated to supporting BIPOC authors and scholarship in the fields of architecture, landscape, and urbanism.

The Global Architectural History Teaching Collaborative (GAHTC) created a lecture series on the topic of Anti-Racism and Global Architectural History. The resource includes lecture slides and notes.

The Society of Architectural Historians compiled a bibliography of educational resources on the topic of race and diversity. The bibliography is divided into the following categories: Pioneering Minority Architects, Case Studies, Race (Concept), Teaching Race, and Social Justice. Formats of resources include books, journals, and media.

A comprehensive archive of contemporary art by artists of African and Asian descent in Britain.

A searchable online catalog with millions of digitized items to browse, including photos, maps and books, from libraries, archives, museums, and cultural institutions around the United States.

A research guide with a bibliography of BIPOC artists, collectors, and dealers organized into four identities: Black artists, collectors, and dealers; indigenous artists, collectors, and dealers; Asian artists, collectors, and dealers; and Hispanic and Latinx arts, collectors, and dealers.

The digital collection includes 169,636 total titles of art history publications, rare books, and literature. Some records include images.

The virtual resource, which features more than 400 women and people of color, is an ever-evolving repository of great talent with the aim of providing long-overdue recognition for marginalized groups. It’s also an important step toward a more inclusive industry amidst a global reckoning with racism and discrimination.

Prints and photographs archived at the Library of Congress. Relevant collections include Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar, Civil War Glass Negatives and Related Prints, Posters: Artist Posters, African merican Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition, Architecture, Design & Engineering Drawings, Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the South, College Women's Association of Japan Print Show Collection, Fine Prints: Japanese, pre-1915, Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs, Popular Graphic Design, and more.

A professional organization that focuses on the intersection between race, art, and visual culture.

An organization that promotes diversity in design and architecture professions. The resource includes a list of designers organized by state and information about their exhibition "Say It Loud."

Focusing on Indigenous Designers and Design Firms, this guide focuses on what indigenous design means--moving beyond just the aesthetic value. Through resources and linked designers, this guide interrogates the thought-process behind indigenous design.

A professional organization that serves and supports research of African and African American, Hispanic, Latinx, Chicano(a), Native American, and Asian experiences.

A national organization that provides BIPOC resources to architects. The purpose of the organization is to reduce the effects of racism in the architectural profession.

acilitate workshops for academics and industry to identify forms of Racialized Design – design that perpetuates elements of racism. Includes links to resources, projects, exhibits, and suggested reading.