This guide lists resources with a focus on BIPOC art history including databases, professional associations, museums/archives, and images and other reference sources.
Journals - scholarly and popular and anti-racist learning materials:
- American Indian Art Magazine byPublication Date: 1977-2015A magazine that focused on the variety of Native American art forms. Articles included current events, auctions, publications, legal issues, and museums and gallery exhibitions.
- American Indian culture and research journal byPublication Date: 1974-PresentAn open access journal that publishes scholarship on the topics of Indigenous sustainability, bioethics, economics, land reclamation, and more.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. Includes online access to the journal Native Peoples: The Journal of the Heard Museum.
- Native American Art MagazineAn open access online magazine directed towards galleries, collectors, and artists interested in historic through contemporary Native American Art.
- "When Research is Relational: Supporting the Research Practices of Indigenous Studies Scholars."Ithaka S+R, a not-for-profit research group, began a project to identify better methods of supporting Indigenous communities. The project was conducted by 11 academic libraries in collaboration with Indigenous scholars and librarians.
- Ojibwe People's DictionaryA searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. It is also a gateway into the Ojibwe collections at the Minnesota Historical Society. The database also contains images of cultural items, photographs, and excerpts from relevant historical documents.
Archival materials and images:
- Minnesota History CenterA museum and research center that focuses on Indigenous communities in Minnesota. The collection contains approximately 250,000 objects, 6,000 works of art, 300,000 photographs, 500,000 printed works, and 500 oral history interviews. Exhibits and community programming provides opportunities to learn about the history and culture.
- Guide to American Indian Research in South DakotaThe South Dakota State Historical Society archived 135 collections pertaining to Native American history and culture. Records include transcripts, newspaper clippings, correspondences, case files, and images. Users may also browse 111 digital objects with subject headings including Photograph Collection -- Manuscript, Art/Artists -- South Dakota, Letters (Correspondence), Appraisals (Records), News Clippings, and more.
- State Historical Society of North DakotaThe official repository for North Dakota state and local government records. Research materials include books, periodicals, maps, newspapers, audio recordings, photographs, and more.
- Billie Jane Baguley Library and Archives, Heard MuseumThe Native American Artists Resource Collection contains over 25,000 Native American artist files. Materials include journals and newspaper articles, photographs, exhibition catalogues, correspondences, and more. Digitized archival materials are available on their website.
- American Indian Records, National ArchivesThe National Archives contains records pertaining to American Indian history dated from 1774 to the 1990s. Records are categorized as Research Individuals, Bureau of Indian Affairs Records (BIA), Census Records, Employment Records, Military Records, Pictures, Rolls, School Records, and Treaties.
- The Plains Art MuseumThe museum collection includes approximately 4,000 works of fine art and ethnographic objects.
- Museum of Indian Arts and CultureA museum that collects Native art and material cultures in the American Southwest from pre-history through contemporary art.
- The Bell MuseumA natural history museum that focuses on the connection between people and the land using Indigenous knowledge systems and understandings of the land as a guide. General museum admission is free for Dakota and all Indigenous peoples.
- The National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian InstituteA museum and cultural center that collects and exhibits Native American artifacts. The center hosts performances, lectures, and educational programming.
- National Indigenous Knowledge and Language AllianceAn alliance of cross-disciplinary professionals to address the importance of knowledge, languages, and cultural heritage of Indigenous peoples.
- Native Arts and Cultures FoundationThe Center for Native Arts and Cultures promotes social change through the arts.
- American Indian Council of Architects and EngineersA non-profit corporation comprised of American Indian architecture, engineering, and design professions throughout the United States.
- Minneapolis American indian CenterA cultural center that serves tribally diverse urban American Indians in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area. Services include preserving cultural traditions through art and promoting healthy lifestyles.
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2023 3:36 PM