Need some help?
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Third Reich Sourcebook (2013)
The Third Reich Sourcebook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520955141Publication Date: 2013With The Third Reich Sourcebook, editors Anson Rabinbach and Sander L. Gilman present a comprehensive collection of newly translated documents drawn from wide-ranging primary sources, documenting both the official and unofficial cultures of National Socialist Germany from its inception to its defeat and collapse in 1945. Framed with introductions and annotations by the editors, the documents presented here include official government and party pronouncements, texts produced within Nazi structures, such as the official Jewish Cultural League, as well as documents detailing the impact of the horrors of National Socialism on those who fell prey to the regime, especially Jews and the handicapped. With thirty chapters on ideology, politics, law, society, cultural policy, the fine arts, high and popular culture, science and medicine, sexuality, education, and other topics, The Third Reich Sourcebook is a collection of primary sources on Nazi Germany.
Section 7 "National Socialism and the Arts" include primary source documents concerning music, musicians, and composers.
Find Digitized Historic Collections
- Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons This link opens in a new windowFind letters written or received by prisoners in prisons and concentration camps, also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
- EuroDocs: National Socialism and World War TwoAnnotated list of primary documents online related to National Socialism (aka Nazism) and WW2. Some are English translations; others in German.
- EuroDocs Shoah (Holocaust)Links to primary historical documents covering the Holocaust/Shoah and Anti-Semitism. The sources are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available.
- EuropeanaSingle access point to millions of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
- GallicaDigital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.
- German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 This link opens in a new windowSearch 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons.
- German History in Documents and Images/Deutsche Geschichte in Dokumenten und BildernPrimary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts with new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
- Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes This link opens in a new windowSearch documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel. Documents include: correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets.
- Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new windowSearch all records of Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) formed in 1938 to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe. It ceased in 1947, when its functions and records were transferred to the International Refugee Organization of the United Nations.
- Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center This link opens in a new windowSearch documents from a wide variety of German official sources, including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities. Dates 1891-1945 (predominantly 1933-1943).
- Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch original documents collected by David Diamant over approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.
- Nuremberg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality This link opens in a new windowSearch index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia.
- Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London This link opens in a new windowSearch the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party contains eyewitness accounts, photographs, books and more. 75% is in German.
- U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 This link opens in a new windowSearch correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.
- Visual History ArchiveA fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. Note: only available remotely to UMN users. See Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users).
- Primary Sources for the Arts, Humanities, and Social SciencesThis page lists online databases that search primary sources in arts, humanities, history, social sciences, etc. Most are large, licensed databases accessible by University of Minnesota students, staff and faculty, and are also accessible to visitors using computers in libraries on the Twin Cities campus. They include sources like newspapers, artifacts, art, songs, images and are often facsimiles or reproductions. To identify resources with specific subject coverage search this page using a single, broad keyword (Some examples: film, history, music, news, political, politics, women).
Find Newspaper and Magazine Articles
- ANNO: AustriaN Newspapers OnlineAustrian newspapers and magazines from the 16th-20th century. Can browse by date, title, and thematic subject.
- Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Digital archive available from ProQuest Historical Newspaper from 1908-2001.
- Illustrated London News Historical ArchiveSearch online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
- Minnesota Star Tribune (1867 to 2001) This link opens in a new windowHistorical run of full-text digital replicas of daily Minneapolis newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, notices, illustrations and photographs and all other full image content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993Search full-page digital archive of the New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993. This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s.
- New York Times (1851 to 20xx) This link opens in a new windowFull-page, digital archive of the New York Times. The archive runs from 1851 to 4 years ago. Search and view images of articles, advertising, photos, and more (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).
- New York Times (1980 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the New York Times to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Newspaper Archive (Midwest)A partial collection covering historical newspapers from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma. Includes digital reproductions of newspapers from counties and cities from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Jewish Advocate, the Jewish Exponent, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- Reader's Guide RetrospectiveUseful for researching popular culture in the United States in the late 19th and early 20th century. Search for articles from popular magazines from 1890-1982.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019Search full text and digital archive of "The Times of London" newspaper for the years 1785-2019. View either a specific article or a complete page with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories.
- World News DigestSearch newspapers and news stories from major newspapers, news magazines, and online news outlets of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world. Useful for background research on current topics, major events in history, and people in the news.
Finding Primary Sources in UMN Libraries' Catalog
Using the UMN Libraries Catalog, enter as a SUBJECT search the name of the individual, group, or term for the topic, plus a term of what you're looking for, such as "Speeches", "Correspondence", "Diaries", "Personal Narratives", and "Sources". The term "Sources" refers to a collection of primary source materials. Here are some examples:
- "Adolf Hitler" and "Speeches"
- "Jews" "Germany" "Diaries" (this would include diaries of Jews from other periods of German history but you can narrow this down by looking at the records
- "Germany" "Politics" "1933-1945" "Sources"
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2024 12:24 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/MUS/1914W