News Library Guides
Librarian
This is a guide of Political Science resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota. Use the "Getting Started" page for new researchers, and the other pages for more advanced content.
Searching for news sources (newspapers, magazines...)
- News Sources (Libraries Search) This link opens in a new windowThis interface allows you to search for articles in newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswire feeds across a variety of library databases. It includes many, but not all, library news subscriptions.
For more in-depth news research, please consult these detailed research guides:
Current news
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- Economist, 1997-currentAccess to "The Economist" from July 1997 to the most recent issue.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- ForeignAffairs.comForeign Affairs is a leading magazine & website covering American foreign policy & international relations. It is relevant for assignments & research projects about policy, political science, economics, public health, & other global issues.
- Foreign PolicyForeign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. The Libraries provide subscription access via the link above or the full catalog record.
Historical news
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015Full-text searchable copy of every issue of "The Economist" from 1843. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue. Access is not available for the most current four years.
- Europeana Newspaper CollectionEuropean newspapers via Europeana/European Library
- Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016Digital archive of the Financial Times, the leading daily business newspaper of Britain and Europe, covering 1888-2016. Search and download articles or full pages that include articles, advertisement, charts, illustrations, photographs, and supplementary content.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowFBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world from 1941 to 1996.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Jewish Advocate, the Jewish Exponent, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992The Punch Historical Archive includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes.
- Foreign Newspaper Collections (Center for Research Libraries)Find print copies of historical foreign newspapers via the Center for Research Libraries catalog, and request to borrow them through interlibrary loan.
World news in print: Indexes
- African RecorderPublished since 1962, gives summaries of events in African countries. Location(s): WILSON Reference DT1 .A228
- APAIS, Australian public affairs information service1955-Current. A subject guide to selected newspaper articles on Australian economic, social, cultural and political affairs.
- Asian RecorderLocation(s): TC Wilson Library Ames (Reference) Quarto DS1 .A4747
- Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriftenliteratur, mit Einschluss von Sammelwerken. Beilage-Band.1909-1944. An index to the principal articles in German, and some Austrian, newspapers.
Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto 016.05 B47 Suppl.B Non-Circulating.
Some volumes of Suppl.B are bound with Wilson Quarto 016.05. B47. - Canadian index1993-1996. Formed by the union of: Canadian business index, Canadian news index, and Canadian magazine index. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto AI3 .C245x
- Canadian news factsDates between 1967-2001. An indexed digest of Canadian news events. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto F1001 .C22x, latest 5 years; TC Wilson Library Quarto F1001 .C22x Non-Circulating
- Canadian news indexAn index of Canadian newspapers from 1977-1992. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto AI3 .C31x Non-Circulating
- CBCA Index1993-2002. CD-ROM version of the Canadian Index. Includes the Calgary Herald, Financial Post, Globe and Mail, Montreal Gazette, Toronto Star and Vancouver Sun. Location(s): WILSON Reference CD ROM.
- Current Digest of the Soviet PressDates between 1949-1992. Continued by the Current Digest of the Post Soviet Press. Also includes a complete index to the contents of Pravda and Izvestiia through 1973. Location(s): WILSON Periodicals Room.
- Dansk Artikelindeks1979-1992. Indexes articles from 18 newspapers. Indexing is in Danish and English. Location(s): WILSON (Non-circulating) AI13 .D31x; Latest 10 years in Wilson Reference.
- Der Spiegel IndexIndex for the prominent German news magazine for the years 1947-1998.
Location(s): Wilson Library Reference Mfiche 99 - El Pais. Indice.Dates between 1984-1996. Subject index. Location(s): Wilson Library Quarto AI21.P32 P34
- Facts on FileA weekly world news digest with of important news stories, providing concise profiles of state, national, and international events; Includes a detailed name and subject index. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto D410 .F14x
- France-actualitéDates between 1978-1980. Provides selective indexing to some daily newspapers, i.e., Le Monde, Le Figaro, and L'Humanite, and full indexing to weekly newspapers. Location(s): TC Wilson Library AI7 .F683 Non-Circulating
- Guardian indexDates between. Location.
1986-2000. Wilson Quarto AI21 G8 G82.
Also:
1842-1928, Microfilm 3117, Wilson Reference
1929-1972, Microfiche 109, Wilson Reference
1973-1985, Microfiche 109a, Wilson Reference
Overall Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto AI21.G8 G82 - Independent: Official IndexDates between 1992-1994. Ceased. Indexes the final editions of the Independent and the Independent on Sunday. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto AI21.I53 O34x Non-Circulating
- Index IndiaDates between 1967-1969, 1972-1974, 1982-Current. Four years behind in publishing. Selected list of articles, editorials, etc. from periodicals and newspapers published in English all over the world pertaining to India. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Ames (Reference) Folio Z3203 .I5
- Indian Press IndexDates between 1968-1986. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Ames (Reference) Quarto AI3 .I75 Non-Circulating
- International and foreign news : current sources in Wilson Library at the University of MinnesotaLocation(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto PN4731 .I58x 1999 Regular Loan;
TC Wilson Library Reference (Desk) Quarto PN4731 .I58x 1999 Non-Circulating - Keesing's Record of World EventsPreceded by Keesing's contemporary archives (1931-1986), this British weekly abstracting service has long been known as a "record of national and international current affairs with continually updated indexes." Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto D 410 K4
- Latin American Weekly ReportThis newsletter is especially useful for Latin American polical and economic news. Location(s): Wilson Periodicals
- Le Monde: Index AnalytiqueDates between: 1944/45-1951, 1858, 1965-1968. Publication was irregular.
• Location(s): Wilson Reference quarto AI21 .M58 - Le Monde IndexDates from 1978-Current. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto AI21 .M59x Non-Circulating
- Letopis' gazetnykh stateĭDates between 1960-2003.
Indexes the most important articles from more than eighty metropolitan, regional, and subject newspapers. - Middle East Contemporary SurveyWilson Reference DS962.8.M53. Location(s): Wilson Reference DS962.8.M53
- Pravda IndexDates between 1975-1977. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto AI21 .P73152 Non-Circulating
- Pravda IndexDates: 1986-1987. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto AI21.P73 P68x
- Svenska tidningsartiklarDates between 1953-1999. Latest 5 years in Wilson Reference. Reviews the major Swedish dailies and weeklies. Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto AI13 .S78
- Tables du journal Le Temps1861-1900. Index for French newspaper, Le Temps.
Index for the years 1914-1940 included on Le Temps microfilm in the Newspaper Room, Wilson basement. Location(s): Wilson Reference AI21 .T375 - Times Literary Supplement IndexDates between 1902-1939, 1940-1980, 1981-1985. Indexes book reviews from the London Times. Location(s): Wilson Reference quarto AP4 .T451
- Zeitungs-IndexIndex to several daily German newspapers. Not complete.
Location(s): Wilson Library AI19 .Z44.
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 4:00 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/political-science