Welcome and Getting Assistance
Welcome to this library guide for POL3410: Topics in Comparative Politics: European Responses to Catastrophes: War to COVID19. Use the links on the left to navigate through the guide which includes links to relevant reference sources, databases, tips on searching, and much more.
Please feel free to reach out to either Brian Vetruba or Jenny McBurney for help. We can provide assistance via email and via one-on-one appointments. No question is too small!
- Brian Vetruba, European Studies and Digital Scholarship Librarian, email: email@example.com; book an appointment
- Jenny McBurney, Social Sciences Librarian (Economics, Political Science, Institute for Advanced Study), email: firstname.lastname@example.org; book an appointment
We're here to help!
Background Information and Reference
Resources Specific to COVID-19 in Europe
Databases for Scholarly Articles
Click "view online," "PDF," or the button to connect to the full text if we have it. The will also indicate whether a print copy is held in the Libraries. If not available, request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Specific Journals and Articles
You can find online journals by searching by journal title in the E-Journal Search.
To search for a specific article, use Libraries Search, a subject-specific database, or citation linker. and search by words in the article title and the author's name. See "How to Find Articles" for more tips.
Useful Books on Europe and the EU
Tips for Using Libraries Search and Catalog
Libraries Search will search many article databases, the UMN Library Catalog and other resources. But it doesn't search everything. You may want to search subject specific article databases to find more articles and for more search options. .
The UMN Library Catalog searches books, journals, DVDs, other formats but NOT articles.
To limit by language, format, or subject, use the limits on the right after performing a search in Libraries Search.
Below are a few useful search strategies:
- "Europe*" and "group identity" - European identity
- "Europe" and "memory"
- [Name of country] "politics and government" as a subject browse (e.g.Germany Politics and Government) scroll down to the appropriate timeframe
- European Union [name of country] as a subject browse (e.g. European Union Great Britain) -- relations between EU and that country
One of the most effective ways to search for items on a country, city, or region is to do a subject browse search. Input the geographic place name and browse through the list of subtopics. See the example below.
Citing your sources (e.g. MLA, APA, etc.)
Many article databases (e.g. Academic Search Premier, Google Scholar) will create a citation for you. After you found the item, look for "cite" or "quotes." Here are examples:
In Google Scholar:
In Academic Search Premier: