Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for GER 3610/5610: German Literature in Translation: African Americans in Germany
Primary Source Databases
For databases covering historical news, see Find News.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995Features more than 170 wide-ranging magazines by and about African Americans.
- American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 (FBIS)New insight into many of the most important historical events and movements of the last hundred years. In addition to providing unique viewpoints on Americas fight for racial justice, this fully searchable online collection also offers rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
- Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 (FBIS)Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryLinks to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available.
- EuropeanaSingle access point to millions of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
- German History in Documents and Images/Deutsche Geschichte in Dokumenten und BildernPrimary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts with new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineSearch primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International PropagandaThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Finding Primary Source Materials in Library Catalog
Additional primary source materials can be found by searching the University of Minnesota Libraries' Catalog. Enter one of the terms below and keywords of the event as subject keywords.
- "personal narratives"
- "documentary film"
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2023 11:15 AM