Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for GER 3610/5610: German Literature in Translation: African Americans in Germany
Tips for Finding News
- To find or browse for articles from a specific newspaper or news magazine, first search by title of the newspaper or magazine in the UMN Library Catalog. If you can't find it there, search Libraries Search or in one of the news databases below.
- For articles on a particular topic or person, use Libraries Search or in one of the news databases below.
- For German, don't forget umlauts. "uber" will not bring up "über" in some databases. For "ß," use "ss"
- If you can't find an article online, make an article request via interlibrary loan/digital delivery.
General and US News Databases
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)Use this database to find newspapers published by or for African Americans exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history, ethnic studies, political science, ethnic studies, diaspora studies, and womens studies.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995Features more than 170 wide-ranging magazines by and about African Americans.
- America's Historical NewspapersIncludes Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), 3 (1783-1922), 6 (1741-1922), 7 (1773-1922), and 18 (1825-1879). Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.
- Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAfrican American newspapers that are included in the ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowInternational news from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersSearch old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- World News ConnectionA service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, between 1995 and 2013. The information is obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports.
- ANNO (AustriaN Newspapers Online)From the Austrian National Library, scanned images of Austrian newspapers from 16th to 20th centuries. Browsing and searching available.
- Compact Memory: German-Jewish Newspapers (Deutsche Nationalbibliothek)305 Jewish newspapers and journals of the German speaking area of the years 1768–1938 and beyond. The newspapers can be printed or saved; some titles have been edited with OCR and are full text searchable.
- FOCUS MagazinAccess to articles from 1993 to recent issues. No access to most recent issues. Can search and browse articles.
- Der Spiegel (1947-1 year ago)Archive of articles from 1947 to 1 year.. Can search and browse articles.
- ZEFYS Zeitungsinformationssystem (Staatsbibliothek Berlin)Digital images of newspapers from German-speaking Europe. Includes links to news other resources and databases. Browsing and searching available.
- Die Zeit OnlineArchive of articles from 1946 onwards. Can search and browse articles.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2023 11:15 AM