Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Related Guides
Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for LING 4901W & LING 3052V: Capstone Seminar in Linguistics.
Find Books & More
TIPS FOR FINDING BOOKS AND BOOK CHAPTERS
- When looking for books and book chapters:
- First, search Libraries Search and/or the Library Catalog which will show what UMN Libraries have.
- If not found, then search WorldCat which includes materials held at other libraries. Click on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to make a request.
- What is the difference between Libraries Search and the Library Catalog? Libraries Search includes all items in the Library Catalog but it also includes articles. The Library Catalog includes print books, eBooks, DVDs, journals, and other formats but NOT articles.
- With Advanced Search, you can limit results to a specific languge, date range and more.
- How do I find eBooks? Conduct a search and use the "Books" and "Available Online" filters on the right-side to limit to these formats.
- If you can't find a book chapter, you can submit a book chapter request via interlibrary loan. You'll get a PDF scan usually within a week. This is a look quicker than requesting the whole book.
- You can request digital delivery scans of parts of books in UMN Collections. To do so fill out an interlibrary loan/digital delivery request
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
"Very Short Introduction" eBooks on Linguistics
The English Language: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198709251Publication Date: 2018In this Very Short Introduction Simon Horobin investigates how we have arrived at the English we know today, and celebrates the way new speakers and new uses mean that it continues to adapt. Engaging with contemporary concerns about correctness, Horobin considers whether such changes areimprovements, or evidence of slipping standards.
Languages: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199590599Publication Date: 2012How many languages are there? Are new languages still being discovered? Why are so many languages disappearing? In this Very Short Introduction, linguist Stephen Anderson addresses such questions as he illuminates the science behind languages.
Linguistics: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780192801487Publication Date: 2003-06-26Linguistics falls in the gap between arts and science, on the edges of which the most fascinating discoveries and the most important problems are found. Beginning at the 'arts' end of the subject with the common origins of languages, and finishing at the 'science' end with the newest discoveries regarding language in the brain, this guide covers all the major aspects of linguistics from a refreshing and insightful angle.
Multilingualism: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198724995Publication Date: 2017Considering multilingualism in the context of globalization, Maher also looks at the fate of many endangered languages as they disappear from the world.
Sociolinguistics: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199858613Publication Date: 2013This Very Short Introduction deals with the social life of language: language in its sociocultural context. The field ranges from micro-analyses to broadly-based policy and planning undertakings. As such, this book draws from sociolinguistics, the sociology of language, and psycholinguistics.The relationship between language and identity - whether of an individual or a group - is a strong thread linking all the topics covered in the book.
Optimality Theory
Doing optimality theory : applying theory to data by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781444301182Publication Date: 2008
Optimality Theory by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780511812408Publication Date: 1999This is an introduction to Optimality Theory. Book also avialable in print.
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2024 3:47 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/LING/4901W