Macroeconomic Data Sources
World Bank Open DataCentral reference point for tables and maps made available on the Internet by the World Bank. Also includes information on methods, modelling tools and technical assistance for users of World Bank statistics.
UNdataThis database provides international statistics on all major social and economic subjects.
IMF Data Mapper - International Monetary Fund1980-present with some projections. Data access via maps with exportable tables.
IFS OnlineIFS (International Financial Statistics) Online provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from 1948-. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
UNCTAD - United Nations Conference on Trade and DevelopmentUNCTAD is the principal organ of the United Nations General Assembly in the field of trade and development. UNCTAD works within the United Nations for the integrated treatment of development and interrelated issues in the areas of trade, finance, technology, investment and sustainable development.
UN Commodity Trade Statistics DatabaseUN Comtrade is the largest and most detailed database of international trade data available. It supports research into bilateral trade of individual commodities (e.g. trade of wool between Uraguay and the USA). Commodities are classified according to SITC), the Harmonized System (HS), and Broad Economic Categories (BEC). Data are available annually and monthly from 1962-present.
Penn World TablesPenn World Tables provide a number of variations on measures of GDP, PPP and capital stock for 182 countries from 1950-2014.
EurostatThe Eurostat website contains a mix of statistical information in PDF pages, pre-defined tables and interactive databases. The coverage varies by topic, but some data goes back at least to 1929. All content is freely available.
Library Subscription Resources
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 36-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (http://www.oecd.org/about/membersandpartners/list-oecd-member-countries.htm). OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters.
Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowSearch statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
- Regional Economic Data Toolkit This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Council for Community and Economic Research, this database includes the following: Cost of Living Index, State Business Incentives Database, State Economic Development Program Expenditures Database, and Diversity Index.
- eCommerceDB by StatistaData and statistics on online stores and markets from around the world. Includes revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and other key performance indicators (KPIs) such as traffic, shipping providers, mobile app analytics, and more.
Federal Reserve Links
- Federal Reserve WebsiteThe Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It performs general functions to promote the effective operation of the U.S. economy and, more generally, the public interest.
- FRED - Federal Reserve Economic DataThis site offers a wealth of economic data and information, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments regional economic data, and more. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
- Federal Reserve Bank of MinneapolisThe Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis offers analysis, papers, research and policy writing on a variety of economic topics that impact the Fed's Ninth District region and its overall economy. Resources available include the Regional Economic Outlook, Ninth District Economic Forecasts, Ninth District Data, Agricultural Credit Conditions, Manufacturing Surveys, Professional Service Firms Survey, Beige Book, and the Ninth District Summary.
- Economic Data from the Federal Reserve Bank in MinneapolisFeatures the Beige Book and BancSearch.
Last Updated: May 1, 2023 10:49 AM