JOUR 3279: Writing for Strategic Communication

Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.

Mintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.

ComScore is an industry source for web analytics about major online properties, which is useful for consumer and audience research and for statistics and rankings of websites.

Includes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.

Find advertising media spending by company, brands, products, or industries across all media channels. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Information about advertisers, agencies, public relations firms and media buying services. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

A platform that integrates real time and historical financial and industry data, research and news. Analyze thousands of global public and private companies, their ownership structure, and related transaction data. Includes ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) data and analytics and trade and supply chain data. Create a personal account to use this resource. Full Tunnel VPN is required to use this resource.

Berg Fashion Library is a resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. It is interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more.

Search for articles in newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswire feeds across a variety of library databases.

This version of Business Source Premier makes it easy to find articles and specialized reports from company profiles and industry reports. This is a good resource for business and economic topics and global studies.

Get WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.

A great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Search for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.

Search articles on film and television studies' topics including theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, reviews from "Variety" back to 1914 and more.

This style guide from The Associated Press (AP) identifes standard reporting practices of names of people and institutions, grammar, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, spelling, and numerals.

Search online encyclopedia on communication studies, including theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas including interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.