Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Use this guide to assist you with completing your assignments for HIST 3615W: Gender, Work, and Livelihood: Women in European History: 1500 to the Present
Article Databases
Click "view online," "PDF," or the 
button to connect to the full text if we have it. The will also indicate whether a print copy is held in the Libraries. If not available, request the item via Interlibrary Loan.
TOP DATABASES
- EconLitContains bibliographic citations and selected abstracts to the professional and scholarly literature in the field of economics and allied disciplines.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- Women's Studies InternationalThis database is a compilation of ten databases covering journal articles, books, anthology chapters, and reports for feminist writings from 1972 to the present.
ADDITIONAL DATABASES
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- ABSEEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies)Search for journal articles and book reviews on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with a vast collection of indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries.
- Education SourceSearch full-text education journals covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- GenderWatchSearch articles from journals, etc. that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas such as the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles.
- History of Science, Technology and MedicineFind articles about the history of science in all historical periods. Includes subjects like magic and alchemy, as well as more modern concepts of science.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Search Terms
Below is a list of some keywords you can use when searching for secondary sources on Women's history in Europe, and women's rights in Libraries Search.
- "women" and "employment" and [name of country or region]
- "women's rights" and [name of country or region]
- "women" and "social conditions" and [name of country or region]
- "women" and "history" and [name of country or region]
- "women" and [event] and [name of country or region] E.g. ("women" "world war 1914-1918" "germany")
- "women" and "suffrage" [add name of country]
- "feminism" and [add name of country or region]
- "sex role" and [add name of country or region] -- use to find materials on gender roles.
Tips
- More options in Advanced Search
- Searching Libraries Search searches books, articles and more.
- After completing a search, use limits on right to narrow down
- To get eBooks, look at limits at right. Select "books" and "available online."
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 4:01 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/HIST/3615W