Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition

An internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. Internet Archive.

A rescue catalog which preserves over 500,000 publications originally hosted by the U.S. Department of Education in the ERIC research repository. ERIC was an open access database of more than 2 million documents dating back to the 1960s. It ceased operating April 23, 2025 due to DOGE cuts. Education Resources Information Center Archive (ERICA).

Crowdsourcing effort to figure out which journals are being removed from ERIC. From Michigan State University.

Direct link to Department of Education archived data in DataLumos.

71 datasets. Data Rescue Project Portal.

Complete data files from 1980 to 2023. Includes data file, STATA data file, SPSS program, SAS program, STATA program, and dictionary. The IPEDS surveys most postsecondary institutions annually, including universities and colleges, as well as institutions offering technical and vocational education beyond the high school level. Allows users to compare the characteristics of different postsecondary institutions. Older IPEDS data are also available through the central ICPSR archive. Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

The tool has an interactive map and uses datasets that are indicators of burdens communities experience in eight categories: climate change, energy, health, housing, legacy pollution, transportation, water and wastewater, and workforce development. This tool has been downloaded and rehosted in advance of the Trump administration's takedown of this invaluable website and data resource. Article

Here is gathered bibliographic information about 22,695 research items (journal articles etc.) as compiled by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS); part of the US federal government's National Institutes of Health (NIH) for its Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal (CCHHL). Internet Archive.

Trying to mirror and safely archive U.S. Govt. websites and datasets related to climate, climate change, and global warming.

A research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right to Know (ERTK). EDGI's Federal Environmental Web Tracker. Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI).

An unofficial copy of EJScreen hosted by the Public Environmental Data Partners.

Preserved datasets and guidances include: The Center for Disease Control (CDC); The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Available via Box.

260 datasets. Data Rescue Project Portal.

Here is gathered bibliographic information about 22,695 research items (journal articles etc.) as compiled by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS); part of the US federal government's National Institutes of Health (NIH) for its Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal (CCHHL). Internet Archive.

Trying to mirror and safely archive U.S. government websites and datasets related to climate, climate change, and global warming.

Tracks climate investments from the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) and the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA). Includes many of the latest publicly available datasets in the climate space, including emissions data, disadvantaged community designations, public investments, and climatic event information. Focused on preserving federal agency resources that would be removed with the new administration, archiving fact sheets, program guidance, toolkits, and more. Atlas Public Policy.

DataRefuge is also an initiative committed to identifying, assessing, prioritizing, securing, and distributing reliable copies of federal climate and environmental data so that it remains available to researchers. Harvard College.

Data uploaded by the Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE)
Includes CDC's Social Vulnerability Index data.
Most of what's being placed here is data focusing on health and the environment. Harvard College.

A research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right to Know (ERTK). EDGI's Federal Environmental Web Tracker. Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI).

An unofficial copy of EJScreen hosted by the Public Environmental Data Partners.

A recently updated version of the EPA’s Risk Management Program, with submissions through December 2024. It includes risk management plans filed by facilities with extremely hazardous substances. Data Liberation Project (DLP).

Direct link to Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) archived data in DataLumos.

This search tool provides links for data that have been downloaded from federal, state, and local agencies. Boston University School of Public Health.

A community-led effort to crawl and archive map/GIS data. They have crawled through hundreds of known GIS servers and are seeking GIS applications that need archiving.

Preserved datasets and guidances include: The Center for Disease Control (CDC); The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Available via Box.

Internet Archive.

A centralized repository of datasets aggregated from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Programs, Offices, and National Laboratories.

An Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. It is actively archiving NOAA data. PANGAEA guarantees long-term availability (greater than 10 years) of its content. PANGAEA is open to any project, institution, or individual scientist to use or to archive and publish data. PANGAEA is hosted by the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research (AWI) and the Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen (MARUM).

Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server. Includes retrieved data sets from CDC, DoE, NIH, and NOAA.

Committed to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data. They have identified 57 high-priority databases, of which 37 have been archived thus far [February 2025].

Links to archived versions of every CDC government page (Parts 1 through 15).

Hosting copies of immunization schedules and contraceptive use guidance from the CDC.

An archived version as of 4/11/25. Archived by Webrecorder who collaborated with Safeguarding Research and Culture (SRC).

Preserved datasets and guidances include: The Center for Disease Control (CDC); The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Available via Box.

Archived content from the U.S. Department of Justice website.

Various individuals and organizations have worked to archive / save data from the NIH, CDC, and other websites. This page lists many of those entities.

"We are developing code to pull CDC pages which were archived by prior to January 20, 2025. Similar archives have been created by the End of Term (https://eotarchive.org) project and are hosted by the Wayback Machine (https://web.archive.org). The individual pages are archived, but links between them are broken and the pages are not easy to locate through web searches. Therefore, we will re-build the links between the pages, to create a site that can be navigated the same way the pre-January 21, 2025 CDC site. The only changes we will make on these pages is to add a header that indicates that this site is not a CDC website. Because of the complex navigation between pages, we will also include a button to report problems in this header. Our goal is to provide a mirror site that provides the same information and user experience as the previous CDC website. Some functionality, such as videos, was not archived and therefore will not work on our site."

Maintains an ongoing blog post that monitors and documents the changes in CDC data. STAT also has begun an effort to download and archive all available files from data.cdc.gov.

CDC datasets uploaded before January 28th, 2025.

Here is gathered bibliographic information about 22,695 research items (journal articles etc.) as compiled by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS); part of the US federal government's National Institutes of Health (NIH) for its Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal (CCHHL). Internet Archive.

Data uploaded by the Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE)
Includes CDC's Social Vulnerability Index data. Most of what's being placed here is data focusing on health and the environment. Harvard College.

This search tool provides links for data that have been downloaded from federal, state, and local agencies. Boston University School of Public Health.

195 datasets. Data Rescue Project Portal.

Preserved datasets and guidances include: The Center for Disease Control (CDC); The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Available via Box.

The 1000 Genomes Project is mirrored in The International Genome Sample Resource (IGSR). European Molecular Biology Laboratory-European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI). Provides open access.

Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server. Includes retrieved data sets from CDC, DoE, NIH, and NOAA.

Direct link to Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration (SAMSHA) archived data in DataLumos.

Maintains an ongoing blog post that monitors and documents the changes in CDC data. STAT also has begun an effort to download and archive all available files from data.cdc.gov.

3,000+ (possibly all) documents from the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). Internet Archive.

Data were retrieved from the DHS Program indicator data API for years 1985-2023. openICPSR.

Summary data for countries, country subdivisions, and demographic categories that were generated from USAID's Demographic Health Survey (DHS). The indicators are population-level estimates that were generated from sample surveys that were conducted in over 90 low and middle income countries at various points over several decades. Almost 2,000 indicators capture information related to: fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, gender, HIV/AIDS, literacy, malaria, nutrition, and sanitation. DataLumos.

Data at the country and country sub-division levels that are part of USAID's Demographic Health Survey (DHS). This collection includes geographically-linked health and demographic data from the DHS Program and the U.S. Census Bureau for mapping in a geographic information system (GIS). The data includes indicators related to: fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, gender, HIV/AIDS, literacy, malaria, nutrition, and sanitation. DataLumos.

State Department and USAID data retrieved from ForeignAssistance.gov. ICPSR.