Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Engineering Librarian
This page has resources useful for students taking IE 4541W.
Off-campus access to library resources
Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.
- Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
- Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
- Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more.
View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.
Find Articles & Books
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- KnovelOnline access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
- Environmental Engineering AbstractsEnvironmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Find business & marketing information
- Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier indexes business articles from 2,200 journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
Use this database to find academic literature on business and economic topics. - Mergent Online (Business)Mergent provides profiles of public corporations from around the world. It provides infomration on company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, and joint ventures, plus access to press releases and historical annual reports.
Use this database if you are looking for information about a specific company. - IBIS World (Business)IBIS World provides industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and selected global topics. Each report provides an overviews, leading companies, products and markets, sales information, and outlooks for an industry.
Use this database to gain an overview of a particular industry, including the major companies operating in it. - PitchBookPitchBook contains entries on thousands of private equity and venture capital deals. Each user must create a personal account while on campus using their valid @umn.edu e-mail address. Accounts expire in August of each year.
Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real-time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
Online Reference Books
These are just a few of the Libraries resources on project management. Search for more in the Libraries Catalog.
Project Management, Planning and Control by ISBN: 9780750669566Publication Date: 2006-11-16Focuses on project management skills for engineering, manufacturing & construction industries. Ideal for engineering project managers taking a Project Management Professional (PMP) qualification, this book covers all information for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) & the Association of Project Management (APM). Fully aligned with the latest 2006 updates to the syllabi & the latest revision of BS 6079 (British Standards Institute Guide to Project Management in the Construction Industry). * Covers the complete body of knowledge for project management professionals in the engineering, manufacturing & construction sectors * Covers all theory & practice for the newly revised PMP and APM qualification exams * Written by a qualified PMP exam accreditor & accompanied by online Q&A resources for self-testing
Project Management ToolBox by ISBN: 9780471208228Publication Date: 2003-06-16Provides a rare look at the situational framework used in building a project management toolbox. * Includes real-world examples of toolboxes used in a variety of project situations. * Bridges the gap between theoretical and applied project management.
Writing & Presentation Skills
A Math-Based Writing System for Engineers : Sentence Algebra and Document Algorithms by Publication Date: 2020
A Scientific Approach to Writing for Engineers and Scientists by ISBN: 9781118899793Publication Date: 2014-05-21This book from the IEEE PCS professional engineering communication series explains the mechanics of good writing.
The IEEE Guide to Engineering Communication by ISBN: 9781119070115Publication Date: 2017-08-30This book from the IEEE PCS professional engineering communication series provides explanations of the different styles of writing needed for different audiences.
Get help from the U Libraries - Online!
- Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
- Chat 24/7 online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
- Meet with a librarianSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
Last Updated: Feb 5, 2024 3:29 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/IE/4541W