Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Related guides
This guide is an in-depth listing of French and Francophone resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.
Online and print reference
-
Historical Dictionary of French Literature
by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection PQ41 .F58 2022ISBN: 9781538168578Publication Date: 2022Contains a chronology, an introduction, an extensive bibliography, and dictionary section of more than 500 cross-referenced entries on individual writers and key texts, significant movements, groups, associations, and periodicals, and on the literary reactions to major national and international events such as revolutions and wars. -
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
by
Call Number: eBook; also available in printISBN: 9780198661252Publication Date: 1995A standard work of reference for English-speaking scholars covering French literature which provides a guide to ten centuries of literature produced in France and Francophone countries. Entries cover individual authors and works and each is discussed in detail within their historical, cultural, and intellectual context.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Search by full-text keyword, author, topic, volume title, publication date, or DLB series.
-
Encyclopédie LarousseWell-known general encyclopedia in the French-language. Site also includes dictionaries.
-
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismComprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually
-
Oxford Bibliographies Cinema and Media StudiesSearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in Film and Media Studies.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Literary and Critical TheorySearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in Literary and Critical Theory.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works spanning the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2025 8:18 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/frenchadvanced