Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to Francophone Studies.
French Dictionaries
-
Dictionnaire de l'Académie FrançaiseSearch the French-language dictionary from the l'Académie Française (the French Academy). Users can search and browse current (9th) and past editions.
-
Dictionnaire des francophones (DDF)An open, collaborative French-language dictionary to include all the words used in Francophone countries.
-
Le Grand RobertAccess all 6 volumes of the latest edition of this prestigious French language dictionary. Includes editorial supplements and unpublished extras.
-
Larousse DictionariesFrench language and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, and conjugation.
-
Trésor de la Langue Française informatiséA dictionary of 19th and 20th century French originally spread over 16 volumes, but now provided in its entirety online. It includes 100,000 words, their history, definitions and examples of their use.
French-English-French
-
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: English-French (4 ed.)
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191735134Publication Date: 2012 -
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : French-English
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191739545Publication Date: 2010This intermediate French dictionary now has a new grammar supplement that focuses on the key points of French grammar providing invaluable support to anyone learning to speak, read and write in French.
-
Larousse DictionariesFrench language and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, and conjugation.
-
WordReference.comFree online translation dictionaries.
Language variation
Last Updated: Jun 11, 2025 12:05 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/francophone