This guide is an in-depth listing of Scandinavian and Nordic Studies resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota. Countries covered include Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.
Find Books, Film, & More
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing email@example.com.
- Karlsruhe Virtual KatalogAllows you to search German, Austrian, Swiss, and other European library catalogs as well as book dealers simultaneously. Interface in English or German.
- bibliotekDK (Danish union catalog)Catalog for all Danish libraries: public, specialized and academic. Interface available in Danish and English.
- Biblioteksøk (Norwegian union catalog)Catalog for the Norwegian National Library, Norwegian university and public libraries. Interface available in Norwegian (Bokmål), Norwegian (Nynorsk), English, and Sami
- LIBRIS (Swedish union catalog)Catalog for Swedish research, university, and some public libraries. Interface available in Swedish and English.
- Gegnir (Icelandic union catalog)Joint catalog for Icelandic libraries. Interface available in Icelandic, English, and Polish.
- Melinda (Finnish union catalog)Catalog for the Finnish National Library and Finnish university and special libraries. Interface available in English, Finnish, and Swedish.
- Books from NorwayBooks from Norway provides you with information in English about Norwegian literature in all genres. The information is provided by rightsholders and NORLA.
- Center for Research LibrariesCRL holds over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. Holdings include such diverse materials as 800,000 doctoral dissertations (including those of Albert Einstein, Dag Hammarskjold and other Nobel laureates), some of the earliest African-American newspapers and the 100,000-plus-page archive of Cambodia's Khmer Rouge security force. Emphasis is on materials produced outside the United States, and the Center has special strength in publications and archives from many developing nations.
- EuropeanaSingle access point to millions of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Last Updated: Mar 9, 2023 4:41 PM