Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is an in-depth listing of Scandinavian and Nordic Studies resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota. Countries covered include Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.
News Databases
Search for news from Scandinavia and Finland in these databases. You can search by topic, language, news source, and country.
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowInternational news from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources.
News in English from Scandinavia and Finland
DENMARK
- The Copenhagen Post - English-language newspaper published in Denmark reporting Danish news.
- The Local.dk - Danish daily news from from English-language news network The Local.
FINLAND
- Finland Today - English-language news.
- Helsinki Times - English-language weekly newspaper published in Helsinki.
- Yle Uutiset - News - English content from Finnish broadcaster Yle.
ICELAND
- Iceland Monitor - English-language news and information site; published by Morgunblaðið.
- Iceland Review - Coverage and analysis of Icelandic news as well as other useful information for both English-speakers in Iceland and travelers to the country.
- IceNews -- Independent news resource on Iceland, Scandinavia and Northern Europe
-
Reykjavik Grapevine -- Guide to travel, life, and entertainment in Reykjavik
NORWAY
- The Local.no - Norwegian daily news from from English-language news network The Local.
- News in English.no - News site a for sharing the top stories being reported by Norwegian news media, and stories that may be of special interest to a foreign audience.
SWEDEN
- The Local.se - Daily news in English from Sweden.
- Radio Sweden - English-language content from Sveriges Radio.
Danish-language News
- DR (Danmarks Radio)Danish national broadcaster
- Jyllands-PostenDaily newspaper.
- PolitikenDaily newspaper.
- Danish Newspapers and News SourcesFrom European Studies Section, listing of news sources.
Finnish-language News
- AamulehtiFinland's second-largest daily newspaper; based in Tampere.
- Helsingin SanomatLargest daily newspaper in Finland; from Helsinki.
- SisuradioFinnish content from Sveriges Radio.
- YleFinland's national radio and television broadcaster
- Finnish Newspapers and News SourcesFrom European Studies Section, listing and links to news sources.
Icelandic-language News
- FréttablaðiðIcelandic daily newspaper.
- MorgunblaðiðIceland's major daily newspaper.
- RÚV (Ríkisútvarpið)Iceland's national public broadcaster.
- Icelandic Newspapers and News SourcesFrom European Studies Section, listing and links to news sources.
Norwegian-language News
- Bergens TidendeLargest daily newspaper from Bergen, Norway.
- AftenpostenNorway's largest daily newspaper.
- DagbladetNorwegian daily newspaper.
- Norwegian Newspapers via National Library of Norway (Nasjonalbiblioteket)Portal to over 794,000 newspapers from 1750 to present. Includes search browsing options. Site in Norwegian.
- NRK (Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation)Norway's national public broadcasting company.
- Norwegian Newspapers and News SourcesFrom European Studies Section, listing and links to news sources.
Swedish-language News
- Dagens NyheterSweden's largest daily newspaper. From Stockholm.
- Göteborgs PostenDaily newspaper from Gothenburg.
- HufvudstadsbladetLargest Swedish-language newspaper in Finland; based in Helsinki.
- Radio Sweden på lätt svenskaSwedish news intended for Swedish-language learners. Read slower and simpler vocabulary.
- SR (Sveriges Radio)Sweden's national radio broadcaster.
- Svenska DagbladetDaily newspaper from Stockholm.
- SVT (Sveriges Television)Sweden's main television broadcast network
- Swedish Newspapers and News SourcesFrom European Studies Section, listings and links to news sources.
Historical News Collections
- European Newspapers via EuropeanaUse facets on left to limit by language, country, and date.
- Norwegian Newspapers via National Library of Norway (Nasjonalbiblioteket)Portal to over 794,000 newspapers from 1750 to present. Includes search browsing options. Site in Norwegian.
- Norwegian Newspapers in America (Index)Index to print and digital holdings of Norwegian-American newspapers.
- Swedish American NewspapersFrom the Minnesota Historical Society, a portal to 32 Swedish newspapers titles published across the United States between 1857 and 2007.
- Scandinavian press : quarterly news from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden (1994-2009)In English, published in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis site allows you to search and view US newspaper pages from 1880-1923 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Foreign Newspaper Collections (Center for Research Libraries)Find print copies of historical foreign newspapers via the Center for Research Libraries catalog, and request to borrow them through interlibrary loan.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:07 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/morescandinavian