Holocaust and Genocide Studies (Advanced Researchers)

Includes Shoah and other documentaries on the Holocaust and other genocides

Search 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons.

Search documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel. Documents include: correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets.

Database on international human rights issues with almost 70,000 documents from nearly 700 nongovernmental human rights organizations worldwide, collected since 1980 by Human Rights Internet. They also collect grey literature material from small and large organizations working globally and locally.

Search all records of Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) formed in 1938 to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe. It ceased in 1947, when its functions and records were transferred to the International Refugee Organization of the United Nations.

Search documents from a wide variety of German official sources, including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities. Dates 1891-1945 (predominantly 1933-1943).

Search original documents collected by David Diamant over approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

Complete and unabridged diaries of German Holocaust survivor Victor Klemperer from 1918 to 1959 which provide historical account of daily life during Germanys Weimar Republic, Third Reich, Holocaust/Shoah, post-war years.

Search index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia.

Search the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party contains eyewitness accounts, photographs, books and more. 75% is in German.

Search correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.

A fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. Note: only available remotely to UMN users. See Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users).

Video collection of primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides available remotely to non-UMN users. Create an account to access. Only 1,800 videos of the +55,000 are viewable. This is a subset of the full version Visual History Archive for UMN affiliates.