This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to Chinese Studies. For advanced researchers, please find the advanced guide in the Related Guides section.
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesSearch topics, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. You can also find citations to journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and more.
Then try any of the following:
- China Data Online This link opens in a new windowFrom the China Data Center at the University of Michigan, this database has current and historical statistics on population and economics at the national, provincial and local level.
- Duxiu DatabaseKnown as Chinese Google Scholar, Duxiu is a large digital collection of Chinese language materials. It provides full-text search capability to millions of Chinese scholarly resources in many subjects and formats (books, journals, newspapers, patents, standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.) Users may read book excerpts online. Document delivery via email is available for some publications. While full text is not always available due to copyright restrictions, Duxiu is a useful tool for obtaining bibliographic information for primary and secondary sources.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineUse Oxford Bibliographies to find scholarship across a wide-variety of subjects with entries that read like annotated bibliography and encyclopedia entries. The Libraries subscribes to the following subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Communication, Criminology, International Law, Latin American Studies, Music, Renaissance and Reformation, and Sociology.
- Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (MCLC)The MCLC Resource Center bibliographies consist of mostly English-language materials on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, film and media studies, visual arts, music, education, and related online resources.
Also check out:
- Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean SourcesYale University’s guide to MLA, Chicago, and APA citation styles for Chinese, Japanese, and Korean sources.
- Searching Chinese Materials in Library CatalogsA YouTube video introduces how to best search Chinese language materials in library catalogs.
- Collection, in Wilson Library, focused on Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language materials, serving the instructional and research needs of the East Asian studies and more.
Chinese Studies Advanced Guide
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:40 AM