Researching Imperialism in Asia
Each kind of research requires its own specific approach. Searching the open Web is generally not the best way to find scholarly information. The libraries provide access to relevant, reliable information via books and journals (both print and online), specialized electronic databases, including many primary source archives, and our own primary source historical archives, such as the Ames Library of South Asia rare collection. With all of the electronic resources out there in the world, it is important to understand that there is much material that is available only in print, so do not expect to rely entirely on online materials. This class gives you the opportunity to get into the Library and dig into print resources. The Library Search is a better friend than google.
PRO TIP: when you find one good source of information, use the citations in the bibliography, footnotes, or reference list in that book or article to lead you to other sources. Then use the bibliographies and footnotes in those other sources to lead you to still other sources, including not only books and journal articles, but also Primary Sources. This is often a more effective way of conducting research than repeated searching.
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Ames Library of South Asia
Located in Wilson Library and home to materials on Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, mainly covering the social sciences and humanities in English, vernacular, and European languages. The Ames Library includes a special collection of rare books and archives of manuscripts, photographs, maps, prints and drawings, mostly from the period 1600-1900.
Hours
Key Reference Works
- Oxford BibliographiesSearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in these areas: African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies, Victorian Literature
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks contain peer-reviewed scholarly review articles in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion. Included are classic works of scholarship along with newly-published works. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles by leading scholars review key issues and major debates, and discuss how those debates might evolve.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian HistoryCovers a wide range of topics related to East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia and the Middle East. It is substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated.
Online Resources by Region
Below are specialized guides linking you to a variety of databases that cover specific regions.
News Sources by Region
Newspapers can provide important insights into historical (and current) phenomena. Below are some region-specific links.
Research and Writing Assistance
- Tutorial: What are citations?Understand what citations are, why they are important, and how to create and use them.
- Tutorial: Using citations to find journal articles and booksLearn how to use citations in journal articles to identify other relevant articles and books and use Libraries Search to find them.
- Citation Guides and Style ManualsA guide to different citation styles.
- Academic Success Centers
The Academic success centers website provides you with a variety of services to help you succeed at the University. Find peer tutors for your courses, academic skills coaching, or get support with writing, research, or media projects. - Center for WritingThey take walk-ins, and both in-person and online appointments. Also find online quick help and resources for writers on the writing process, common assignments, grammar, punctuation, style and more. Put the polishing touches on your work.
- Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
- Chat 24/7 Online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
