Historical news archives
- News Sources (Libraries Search) This link opens in a new windowThis tool allows you to search for articles in newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswire feeds across a variety of library databases. If you want to find historical material, make sure you use the Date Filter!
- Proquest Historical NewspapersSearch old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- America's Historical NewspapersIncludes Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), 3 (1783-1922), 6 (1741-1922), 7 (1773-1922), and 18 (1825-1879). Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.
- Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAfrican American newspapers that are included in the ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- Newspaper Archive (Midwest)A partial collection covering historical newspapers from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma. Includes digital reproductions of newspapers from counties and cities from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- World Newspaper ArchiveWorld Newspaper Archive is a collection of historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, and South Asia throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. It provides excellent coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that have shaped world history. Additional collections covering other regions will be added over time.
Historical news: By publication title
- New York Journal (1896 - 1899)Library of Congress digital collection of issues of the late 19th century NY Journal.
Newspapers by title
- Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016Digital archive of the Financial Times, the leading daily business newspaper of Britain and Europe, covering 1888-2016. Search and download articles or full pages that include articles, advertisement, charts, illustrations, photographs, and supplementary content.
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1994Search articles, full pages and images of the Los Angeles Times newspaper back to 1881.
- Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1930)The Historical Minneapolis Tribune is an open access digital archive of this newspaper from 1867-1930. Full pages can be printed or saved to pdf using the print feature. For other digital newspapers from the Minnesota Historical Society, go to Digital Newspapers at MNHS
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 to 2001) This link opens in a new windowHistorical run of full-text digital replicas of daily Minneapolis newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, notices, illustrations and photographs and all other full image content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Star Tribune. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos, or other non-textual article content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream). Note: There is a one-day embargo on content.
- New York Times (1851 to 20xx) This link opens in a new windowFull-page, digital archive of the New York Times. The archive runs from 1851 to 4 years ago. Search and view images of articles, advertising, photos, and more (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).
- New York Times (1980 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the New York Times to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019Search full text and digital archive of "The Times of London" newspaper for the years 1785-2019. View either a specific article or a complete page with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories.
- Times of India, 1838-2010Digital archive of the Times of India (1838-2010 with annual additions of new content). Actual full-page images and full text searchable. The titles included under this heading are: Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859) and the Bombay Times and Standard (1861-1861).
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2000Search full text digital archive of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 2000. View individual articles or full pages including advertisements, editorials, etc.
- Wall Street Journal (1980 to present)Full-text coverage of the Journal - a business newspaper with extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments, and companies - to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
Magazines by title
- Architectural Digest Archive, 1922-2011Access full text issues of the influential design magazine from the 1920s to 2011, including color photographs and cover art. Use this archives to research the history of design, culture, art, and residential architecture. Analyze trends in topics or types of advertising in thes historical issues.
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive, 1929-2000Find indexes, abstracts, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek, beginning with its first issue in 1929 and ending in December 2000.
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015Full-text searchable copy of every issue of "The Economist" from 1843. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue. Access is not available for the most current four years.
- Forbes Magazine ArchiveSearch bi-weekly business magazine since the first issue in 1917 for articles, advertisements, illustrations, charts found in each issue cover to cover. Use this archives to find information about business leaders, politics, and technology including Forbes lists of companies, world's richest people, most powerful women and other rankings.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive, 1867-currentFind articles, advertisements, and covers of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.
- HarpWeekHarpWeek contains the scanned images of pages of the magazine Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1912, with a series of indexes to search for news, editorials, fiction, illustrations, photos, political cartoons, advertisements.
- Life Magazine Archive, 1936-2000Searchable digital archive of Life magazine covering national and international events, documentaries, popular culture, and business from November 1936 through December 2000.
- NationOpinion magazine available from 1865 via EBSCO.
- National ReviewOpinion archives available from 1955 via EBSCO.
- New RepublicAvailable from 1914 via EBSCO.
- Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992The Punch Historical Archive includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes.
- Scientific AmericanAmerican science magazine written for the general public. Published since 1845.
- Time Magazine Archive, 1923-2000Search full text of Time Magazine from 1923 to 2000 and read articles, front and back covers, photographs, illustrations and advertisements.
- Vogue Archive, 1892-currentA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive, 1910-currentSearch the full text digital archive of the fashion industry's most influential trade magazines from 1910-present. Research the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Use the WWD entry to access current content.
- Libraries SearchSearch for articles and books across library databases using the Libraries search on the homepage. Great for finding book chapters on late nineteenth century journalism, for example.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Recent news databases
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- MasterFile CompleteSearch magazines, with a small number of journals and newspapers, covering a broad range of disciplines and topics. Includes photos and multimedia.
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2023 1:34 PM