Resources for: Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Search the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

A bibliography of monographs covering aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and other disciplines in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world during the Middle Ages. Part of "Brepols Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies."

A multidisciplinary bibliography of monographs, articles, and other academic publications covering the Renaissance and the Early Modern Periods (approximately 1500-1700). Part of "Brepols Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies."

Search books and articles useful to the study of the Middle Ages, the period 476-1500 across Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa, covering resources in over 25 languages. Part of "Brepols Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies."

A bibliography of more than 1.3 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.

Use the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.

This database includes prominent digitized works published in Europe from the 15th to the 18th centuries. A veritable collection of early printed books.

Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

Search Medieval and Early Modern Studies Online (MEMSO) to find primary sources from the medieval and early modern periods and books concerning the study of medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland.

Contains 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works spanning the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Search expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in Medieval Studies.

Search expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in Renaissance and Reformation studies.

Digital collection of documents related to European travels of exploration and expansion, including conflict over territories and trade routes, and scientific discoveries.

Collection of digitized documents related to the expansion outside of Europe of Great Britain, France, Spain, Portugal, and Germany from 1492, and about the end of the colonial empires that they created from 1918 to 1969.

Use this source to find primary sources and full text books from the 1460-1850 period with focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Contains a wide range of materials related to British history from the early 1600s onward, including the colonization of America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia. The collection contains sources that relate to both politics and history, including colonial missionary records, slavery in the Americas, World War One, and shipping records. Primary sources include journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers.