Scholarly journals include articles of original research, literature reviews, opinion pieces, book reviews, and more. Usually written by experts in the discipline for an academic audience, they are published periodically (e.g., annually, quarterly, or monthly). Scholarly journals are also called serials or periodicals. This list is not comprehensive. One may have to look for other relevant journals in related fields such as women’s studies, history, or psychology.
Specialized Reference Books
Selected titles include specialized reference works like encyclopedias, handbooks, or bibliographies that primarily focus on transgender topics. This list is not intended to be comprehensive.
Bibliographic databases, which are collections of references to published literature, may include journal articles, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, reports, government and legal publications, books, or other types of publications. This list of databases is not exhaustive, but is meant to highlight those most likely to include relevant published materials.
- CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health)Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
- GenderWatchSearch articles from journals, etc. that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas such as the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles.
- LGBTQ+ SourceLGBTQ+ Source contains indexing, abstracts, amd select full text for LGBTQ+ specific core periodicals. Books, newsletters, case studies, dissertations, and core primary sources are also represented. LGBTQ+ Source content is largely unique from other databases, and it includes indexing from its own LGBTQ+ focused thesaurus.
- Left IndexFind left-leaning literature on topics including politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- APA PsycInfoFind articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- WestlawNext Campus Research (Law)WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments. It includes law journals, the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, the American Law Reports, and news content.
- Women's Studies InternationalThis database is a compilation of ten databases covering journal articles, books, anthology chapters, and reports for feminist writings from 1972 to the present.
Archives and Special Collections
Archives and special collections refer to groups of unique or rare materials, often focused around a single topic or from a single source. Items in archives and special collections cannot be borrowed and are viewed instead on site or digitally. In this guide, we include only collections/archives with dedicated focus on transgender topics, or LGBTQIA+ with transgender specific sections (unless a particular general collection/archive has an overwhelming abundance of material, warranting an exception).
It is not entirely possible to separate trans collections from LGBTQIA+ ones. In the following section, you will find more expansive collections that include content relevant to research on trans topics.
- Lesbian and Gay Newsmedia Archive (London)Materials in the "transgender topics clippings" subject section
Datasets and Statistics
Datasets consist of individual data points or input collected (e.g., individuals’ reported alcohol use and gender identity). Statistics are the result of analysis done on data or datasets (e.g., percentage of transgender teenagers who have high alcohol usage). This list includes datasets/statistics that have specific data about trans populations or transgender topics. There are many other datasets/statistics/surveys (e.g., hate crime or homeless populations) that are not trans-specific, but likely contain trans people; these are not listed below but would have relevance to this area. However, we do point to broad repositories and resources that include these types of datasets and statistics.
- 2021 Canadian Census of PopulationBeginning in 2021, the precision of "at birth" was added to the sex question on the census questionnaire, and a new question on gender was included. As a result, the historical continuity of information on sex was maintained while allowing all cisgender, transgender and non-binary individuals to report their gender.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)Some states collect sexual identity data on the BRFSS at their own expense - you must contact the state coordinator to inquire about the data.
- Minnesota Student SurveyThis voluntary survey asks students about their activities, opinions, behaviors and experiences, including a few questions related to transgender identity. Students respond to questions on school climate, bullying, out-of-school activities, health and nutrition, emotional and mental health, relationships, substance use and more. Questions about sexual behaviors are asked only of ninth- and 11th-grade students. All responses are anonymous.
- National Transgender Discrimination Survey2011 precursor to the US Transgender Survey. It was the biggest study of transgender populations at the time it was conducted. Includes interviews with over 6,400 transgender and gender non-conforming people.
- Registry: Clinical Trials with Transgender PersonsNational Institutes of Health Clinical Trials Registry. This is a curated list of trials with transgender persons.
- Repository: DryadThere are datasets in Dryad tagged with transgender - they may or may not aggregate "transgender" into an "LGBTQIA+" category. As of Spring 2019, Dryad contains one dataset tagged with the term transgender.
- Repository: FigShareThere are many datasets in FigShare tagged with transgender - they may or may not aggregate "transgender" into an "LGBTQIA+" category.
- Repository: Harvard DataverseThere are many datasets in Harvard Dataverse tagged with transgender - they may or may not aggregate "transgender" into an "LGBTQIA+" category.
- Repository: ICPSRThere are many datasets in ICPSR tagged with transgender - they may or may not aggregate "transgender" into an "LGBTQIA+" category.
- Sexual Victimization in Prisons and Jails Reported by Inmates, 2011-12-UpdateData on the number of transgender inmates assaulted in US prisons.
- Social Justice Sexuality ProjectThe Social Justice Sexuality Project is one of the largest ever national surveys of Black, Latinx, and Asian and Pacific Islander, and multiracial LGBTQIA+ people. With over 5,000 respondents, the final sample includes respondents from all 50 states; Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico.
- TransPopThe TransPop study (2016-2018) is the first national probability sample of transgender individuals in the United States (it also includes a comparative cisgender sample). A primary goal of this study was to provide researchers with a representative sample of transgender people in the United States. The study examines a variety of health-relevant domains including health outcomes and health behaviors, experiences with interpersonal and institutional discrimination, identity, transition-related experiences, and basic demographic characteristics (age, race/ethnicity, religion, political party affiliation, marital status, employment, income, location, sex, gender, and education).
- U.S. Transgender SurveyThe 2015 U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS) is the largest survey ever devoted to the lives and experiences of transgender people, with 27,715 respondents across the United States. The USTS was conducted by the National Center for Transgender Equality in the summer of 2015, and the results provide a detailed look at the experiences of transgender people across a wide range of areas, such as education, employment, family life, health, housing, and interactions with police and prisons.
- Unerased: Counting Transgender LivesDatabase of transgender homicides from 2010-2018. Click on the Database heading and then anywhere on the page to access the database. Mic is a news media company publishing stories focused on millennials and policy analysis.