Ask Brian!
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
Find Books
TIPS FOR FINDING BOOKS AND BOOK CHAPTERS
- When looking for books and book chapters:
- First, search Libraries Search and/or the Library Catalog which will show what UMN Libraries have.
- If not found, then search WorldCat which includes materials held at other libraries. Click on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to make a request.
- What is the difference between Libraries Search and the Library Catalog? Libraries Search includes all items in the Library Catalog but it also includes articles. The Library Catalog includes print books, eBooks, DVDs, journals, and other formats but NOT articles.
- With Advanced Searching, you can limit results to a specific languge, date range and more.
- For Russian or other Cyrillic languages, alway start with a transliterated search with Latin letters.
- If you can't find a book chapter, you can submit a book chapter request via interlibrary loan. You'll get a PDF scan usually within a week. This is a look quicker than requesting the whole book.
- You can request digital delivery scans of parts of books in UMN Collections. To do so fill out an interlibrary loan/digital delivery request
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
Find Film
TIPS ON FINDING FILM AND BOOKS OF FILM CRITICISM
1. Libraries Search will bring you to films available via streaming, DVD, and other formats.
2. For specific films, search by TITLE or input the director or actor as AUTHOR in Libraries Search.
3. To find groups of films by national cinema , search "films" and the name of the country as SUBJECTS in Libraries Search. E.g. for Czech films: SUBJECT "films" and SUBJECT "czech republic." Then limit to "videos"
4. For criticism books covering national cinemas, search "motion pictures" and the name of the country as SUBJECTS in Libraries Search.
5. For criticism books covering one film, search the film title as SUBJECT in Libraries Search.
6. For films on reserve for your course, go to "Library Course Materials" on your course's Canvas page.
BELOW ARE COLLECTIONS OF STREAMING VIDEO DATABASES
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online (AVON) delivers 70,000+ videos, on a range of topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International PropagandaThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
- Kanopy StreamingVideo streaming platform hosting a wide variety of award-winning films and documentaries.
- YouTubeYouTube will provide snippets of films and sometimes the entire film. Search for both the original title of the film and English- translated title.