Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for CSCL 5910/SLAV 5900/SLAV 3900
Historical Background Information
- "East Central Europe"By Steven Béla Várdy and Emil Niederhauser from Encyclopedia of European Social History
- "Eastern Europe" (REFERENCE ARTICLE)By Bernd Stöver from The Oxford Handbook of the Cold War
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism by Call Number: Quarto DJK6 .E53 2000 (Wilson Reference)ISBN: 0815300921Publication Date: 2000
Europe since 1914 by ISBN: 9780684314976Publication Date: 2006Presents the history of Europe from the Renaissance, the printing revolution, and the Protestant Reformation in the 1400s and 1500s through the Scientific Revolution of the 1600s, and the Enlightenment and the French Revolution of the 1700s.
Historical Dictionaries of EuropeBook series of historical dictionaries covering nation-states of Europe. All contain well-written brief histories of the country and chronologies that, though they cover historical time periods, heavily feature more recent events. Brief A-Z entries cover the main people, politics, social issues, foreign affairs, institutions, and policies that make the country unique. Extensive bibliographies are divided into several general subject areas
The Routledge History Handbook of Central and Eastern Europe in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780367822118Publication Date: 2020Four-volume set on Central and Eastern Europe in the twentieth century.
- Cambridge HistoriesProvides full text online access to over 360 volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series published since 1960. Coverage of political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowMajor encyclopedia with information on a wide range of subjects.
- Europa World PlusEuropa World is a source of information for more than 250 countries and territories. Find facts, statistics, history, political, economic and other information including geography, media outlets, education, government agencies, trade and industry, tourism and other organizations. A major bibliography is included for each country and survey articles on various issues are listed for each major region.
- Gale EbooksSearch encyclopedias and reference books from various publishers in many subjects, including art, biography, business, cultural studies, education, the environment, history, religion, science, and social science.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks contain peer-reviewed scholarly review articles in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion. Included are classic works of scholarship along with newly-published works. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles by leading scholars review key issues and major debates, and discuss how those debates might evolve.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- WikipediaCiting Wikipedia is generally not acceptable for research papers, however, it is a great starting point to get background information and can lead to scholarly sources. Also, see Academic Use of Wikipedia
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryLinks to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2024 3:12 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/CSCL/5910