Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
English dictionaries
-
Oxford English Dictionary OnlineFull-text of the 2nd ed. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
-
Cambridge Dictionaries OnlineCollection of freely available dictionaries, inlcuding Cambridge's English dictionary, its Learner’s Dictionary, Essential American English, and Essential British English. Also has bilingual dictionaries.
Historical
-
Dictionary of Old EnglishThe Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first centuries (600-1150 A.D.) of the English language. Browsing and searching options for Old English and Modern English available. Currently only letters A to Le included.
-
Dictionary of Old English CorpusDictionary of Old English electronic corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
-
Middle English CompediumIncludes three searchable resources on Middle English (1100-1500 CE): the Middle English Dictionary, Bibliography of Middle English, and Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. From the University of Michigan
Irish Gaelic--English--Irish Gaelic Dictionaries
-
The Oxford pocket Irish dictionary : Béarla-Gaeilge = English-Irish
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191727863Publication Date: 2000 -
The Oxford pocket Irish dictionary : Gaeilge-Bearla : Irish-English
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191739460Publication Date: 2000 -
An Irish-English dictionary : being a thesaurus of the words, phrases and idioms of the modern Irish language byCall Number: eBook; also available in printPublication Date: 1927. repr. 1953
Welsh--English--Welsh Dictionaries
-
The Pocket Modern Welsh Dictionary: A Guide to the Living Language : English-Welsh
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198645313Publication Date: 2000 -
The Pocket Modern Welsh Dictionary: A Guide to the Living Language : Welsh-English
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198645313Publication Date: 2000
-
Geiriadur Prifysgol Cymru: A Dictionary of the Welsh Language"The standard historical Welsh dictionary"; a historical-etymological dictionary based on texts dating from the early medieval period to this century. Entry terms and definitions are in Welsh; English-language equivalents are also given. Based on a print dictionary first published 1950-2002 by the University of Wales with an updated and expanded edition in progress, the online version, GPC Online, supports searches by both Welsh and English words and phrases.
Other dictionaries
-
Dictionaries of the Scots LanguageSearchable historical dictionaries of the Scots language including "The Scottish National Dictionary" (SND) for Modern Scots (after 1700) and "A Dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue" (DOST) for Older Scots (after 1700).
-
English Dialect Dictionary Online: A New Departure in English Dialectology
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781108840651Publication Date: 2020"Joseph Wright's English Dialect Dictionary (1898-1905) is the most comprehensive English dialect dictionary ever written, documenting in detail every dialect of English in the British Isles and Ireland, as well as the USA, Canada, South Africa, and other colonial regions."--Publisher description. -
More dictionaries
For additional dictionaries, consult the related guides.
Still more dictionaries can be found by searching in Libraries Search Advanced Search with "dictionaries" and "[name of language] language" or "dialect" as SUBJECTS.
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2025 12:47 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/britishirish