Research Guides: British and Irish Studies: Background and Reference

Ask Brian!

Email Me

Contact:

Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455

Email: bvetruba@umn.edu

612-625-8161

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Major encyclopedia with information on a wide range of subjects.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Portal to open access primary historical documents for European countries that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Texts, video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available. Coverage is from Prehistoric Europe to present day. In particular, see the following: Ireland, Scotland, and UK

Europa World Plus
Europa World is a source of information for more than 250 countries and territories. Find facts, statistics, history, political, economic and other information including geography, media outlets, education, government agencies, trade and industry, tourism and other organizations. A major bibliography is included for each country and survey articles on various issues are listed for each major region.

British and UK Studies Guide
From the European Studies Section of ACRL, scholarly resources in British and UK Studies, including the nations making up the United Kingdom (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales). The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process
Irish Studies Guide
From the European Studies Section of ACRL, scholarly resources in Irish Studies. The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process.

Oxford Bibliographies
Search expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in these areas: African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies, Victorian Literature
Oxford Reference Online
Contains 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works spanning the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Access is limited for 5 simultaneous users.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Search by full-text keyword, author, topic, volume title, publication date, or DLB series.

Coverage varies by title. This is not an active subscription. All available content has been previously purchased by University of Minnesota Twin Cities.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Search through thousands of biographies and portraits of the significant, influential, and notorious people who shaped British history. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
World Biographical Information System
Search short biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. WBIS provides an index to the entire archive; we have full-text access to these language-area archives: Baltic, Czech & Slovak, German, Polish, Russian & Soviet, and Scandinavian Biographical Archives.

Additional print and electronic resources can be found by searching Libraries Search.

For biographical dictionaries covering specific groups, enter the group, name of a country/region, "biography" and "dictionaries" as a subject keywords (e.g. "women" "great britain" "biography" "dictionaries")