This guide is an in-depth listing of European Studies resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.

New Database--Klemperer Online: Diaries 1918-1959

by Brian Vetruba on 2020-01-22T16:33:00-05:00 in Holocaust and Genocide Studies, History | Comments

database imageThe UMN Libraries now have access to Klemperer Online, a database of the complete and unabridged diaries of Victor Klemperer from 1918-1959. Klemperer, who primarily identified as German was the son of a reform rabbi and converted to Protestantism in 1912. For the Nazis, however, he remained a Jew and was persecuted as such. His careful observations and analyses from the Weimar Republic, the Third Reich, and East Germany (German Democratic Republic) illuminate what it meant to live under these three regimes. Klemperer taught as a professor of Romance languages at the Technical University of Dresden 

The database includes extensive commentary, chronology, facsimiles, and a comprehensive bibliography of literature by and about Victor Klemperer.  The database interface is available in German or English; the diary entries and commentary are in German. 

 For more information, see the database info page and this short introductory video (3 minutes). For questions about this resource, contact Brian Vetruba, European Studies and Digital Scholarship Librarian. 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

Last Updated: Jul 13, 2021 12:35 PM