This guide is an in-depth listing of European Studies resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.
Recent books on the Holocaust added to UMN Libraries, 2018-2019
by Brian Vetruba on 2020-01-22T18:06:00-05:00 in History, Holocaust and Genocide Studies | 0 CommentsFeatured below is a selected list of new books on Holocaust published 2018-2019 available at the UMN Libraries (Twin Cities). Click on the links to access the eBooks. Consult Libraries Search or the Catalog for additional titles.
An archive of the catastrophe : the unused footage of Claude Lanzmann's Shoah by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection PN1997.S4755 C39 2019
ISBN: 9781438474762
Publication Date: 2019
Comprehensive analysis of 220 hours of outtakes that impels us to reexamine our assumptions about a crucial Holocaust documentary.
Beyond "Ordinary men" : Christopher R. Browning and Holocaust historiography by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Reflecting on the work of one of the field’s most influential scholars, the twenty essays in this book explore the evolution and application of Holocaust historiography, identify key insights into genocidal settings and point to gaps in our knowledge of humanity’s most haunting problem.Why do they kill?The publication in 1992 of Christopher R. Browning’s “Ordinary Men” raised crucial, previously unasked questions about the Holocaust: what made the members of a German police battalion – “middle-aged family men of working- and lower-class background” – become mass murderers of Jewish children, women, and men?
A Group Analytic Approach to Understanding Mass Violence by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection HV6322.7 .R683 2019
Publication Date: 2019
A Group Analytic Approach to Understanding Mass Violence makes an analytic examination of the enactment of genocide by Nazi Germany during World War II to explore how mass and state-sponsored violence can arise within societies and how the false beliefs that are used to justify such actions are propagated within society.
The Holocaust and North Africa by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection DS135.A25 H65 2019
Publication Date: 2019
The Holocaust is usually understood as a European story. Yet, this pivotal episode unfolded across North Africa and reverberated through politics, literature, memoir, and memory--Muslim as well as Jewish--in the post-war years. The Holocaust and North Africa offers the first English-language study of the unfolding events in North Africa, pushing at the boundaries of Holocaust Studies and North African Studies, and suggesting, powerfully, that neither is complete without the other.
The Holocaust and the Nakba by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection DS119.7 .S3819413 2018
ISBN: 9780231182966
Publication Date: 2018
Also available as an eBook.
In this groundbreaking book, leading Arab and Jewish intellectuals examine how and why the Holocaust and the Nakba are interlinked without blurring fundamental differences between them. While these two foundational tragedies are often discussed separately and in abstraction from the constitutive historical global contexts of nationalism and colonialism, The Holocaust and the Nakba explores the historical, political, and cultural intersections between them.
Holocaust graphic narratives : generation, trauma, and memory by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection PN56.H55 A238 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Employing memory as her controlling trope, Aarons analyzes the work of the graphic novelists and illustrators, making clear how they extend the traumatic narrative of the Holocaust into the present and, in doing so, give voice to survival in the wake of unrecoverable loss. In recreating moments of traumatic rupture, dislocation, and disequilibrium, these graphic narratives contribute to the evolving field of Holocaust representation and establish a new canon of visual memory.
The Holocaust's Jewish calendars : keeping time sacred, making time holy Jewish literature and culture. by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780253038265
Publication Date: 2019
While the challenges to tracking Jewish conceptions of time during the Holocaust were substantial, Alan Rosen reveals that many took great risks to mark time within that vast upheaval. Rosen inventories and organizes Jewish calendars according to the wartime settings in which they were produced--from Jewish communities to ghettos and concentration camps.
It Is Impossible to Remain Silent (English translation of Semprun, Wiesel: se taire est impossible) by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780253045287
Publication Date: 2019
On March 1, 1995, at the time of the fiftieth anniversary of the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps, ARTE (a French-German state-funded television network) proposed an encounter between two highly-regarded figures of our time: Elie Wiesel and Jorge Semprún. These two men, whose destinies were unparalleled, had probably crossed paths--without ever meeting--in the Nazi concentration camp Buchenwald in 1945. This short book is the entire transcription of their recorded conversation.
Mass murder of people with disabilities and the Holocaust by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection D804.5.H35 M388 2019
ISBN: 386331459X
Publication Date: 2019. Also available as downloadable eBook
Unlikely heroes : the place of Holocaust rescuers in research and teaching by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Classes and books on the Holocaust often center on the experiences of victims, perpetrators, and bystanders, but rescuers also occupy a prominent space in Holocaust courses and literature even though incidents of rescue were relatively few and rescuers constituted less than 1 percent of the population in Nazi-occupied Europe.
Contact Brian (bvetruba@umn.edu) with questions about these or other resources!
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
Journal of Contemporary Antisemitism--NEW eJOURNAL
Docuseek2-- Streaming Database of Documentaries and Social Issues Films
Recent books on the Holocaust added to UMN Libraries, 2018-2019
New Database--Klemperer Online: Diaries 1918-1959
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2025 2:00 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/moreeuropean
0 Comments.