East and Southeast Asian News

ECPO joins together several important digital collections of the early Chinese press and puts them into a single overarching framework. So far, the ECPO project has focused on a body of rich but heretofore undervalued materials—women’s and entertainment magazines.

The collections here include a range of East Asian (plus Singapore) newspapers, journals, and magazines published in Chinese, Korean, and Japanese languages from 1850-1950.

Bibliography, with links, to open access online historical newspapers.

By the CUHK Library.

It's a geographic discovery tool for the historical Chinese newspapers and journals on the Internet Archive by Yan He from George Washington University.

New Zealand’s first Chinese language newspaper. Published in Wellington by the New Zealand branch of the Chinese Nationalist League, the Kuomintang.

Founded in 1993, Ming Pao Daily News (Canada Edition) is a Chinese language newspaper published daily in Toronto (Eastern Edition) and Vancouver (Western Edition). UBC Asian Library has collaborated with Ming Pao and a family foundation in 2008 to develop a free online database of Vancouver’s Chinese community news. Date and keyword search are currently available from January 1, 1997 to June 23, 1998, and from year 2000 onward. The use of materials is limited to educational and non-profit purpose.

A database of most of the histoical local newspaper in Changzhi, including 长治报, 长治市报, 汉中日报1970, 晋东南报1980年代, 新太行报1970, 潞安矿报1950, 文化周刊1950, 冀中导报1948, 邯郸日报(1949,1969), 沈阳日报1969, 工农兵1969, 太行邮报1949, 湖北农民报196, 红色社员报1976.

A newspaper published in Singapore in Chinese.

The Government Gazette as a collection of major national decrees & regulations. Its purpose is to archive original military & political measures, acts & proclamations, personnel assignments & removals, minutes of meetings, etc. that are of value to researchers of modern history. National Central Library Gazette Online (NCLGO) contains over 80 gazettes published since 1912, of which 18 gazettes from ministries and commissions under the Executive Yuan have been integrated into Executive Yuan Gazette since January 2005. To date, over 6.4 million pages of scanned image and over 1.3 million metadata records had been provided on NCLGO.

The Man Sing Times 民​聲​報 (1921–1922) New Zealand’s first Chinese language newspaper.
The New Zealand Chinese Weekly News 中国大事周报(1937–1946) Published in Wellington by the New Zealand Chinese Association, as part of the New Zealand Chinese community’s response to the Sino-Japanese War.
The New Zealand Chinese Growers Monthly Journal 僑農月刊 (1949–1972)

Facsimile reproductions of the Shanghai-published English language newspaper North-China Daily News, from 1881 to 1937. Digitized by the Center for Research Libraries.

The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.

Translations of the Peking Gazette Online is a comprehensive database of approximately 8,500 pages of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912. As the mouthpiece of the government, the Peking Gazette is the authoritative source for information about the Manchu state and its Han subjects as they collectively grappled with imperial decline, re-engaged with the wider world, and began mapping the path to China’s contemporary rise.

This database focuses on a special type of newspaper known as the xiaobao or entertainment newspaper. It first appeared in China in the 1890s and was inspired by Western entertainment tabloids. The centre of publication was Shanghai, and from the time of its creation, it became one of the most popular media for the daily publication of entertainment news, serialized fiction, short stories, social and political commentary, and cartoon drawing.

A platform covers resources on the Anti-Japanese War and modern China-Japan relations. It includes books, archives, periodicals, newspapers, audios, videos, etc.

China Digital Times (CDT) is an independent, bilingual media organization that brings uncensored news and online voices from China to the world. CDT is based in Berkeley, CA.

The official state press media of the People's Republic of China.

The Guangming ribao database includes the newspaper published after 1998.