Related Guides
This is a guide for researchers who are looking for East Asian and Southeast Asian news resources.
On this page
Historical Newspaper
- Southeast Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull page images and text from over 100 newspapers in various languages and countries of the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam. Time period is the late 19th and 20th centuries.
- NewspaperSGOnline archive of Singapore's newspapers. Current and historic Singapore & Malay newspapers published 1831-2009, including Japanese newspaper Syonan Shimbun (Shonan Times); and Chinese language newspapers Lianhe Zaobao, Sin Chew Jit Po and Nanyang Siang Pao (Nanyang Shang Bao), and Lianhe Wanbao.
Searching can be done in English, Chinese, or Malay. See "Newspaper Titles" for full list. - National Library of Vietnam Historical Newspaper CollectionDigital archive includes scattered issues of some important journals and newspapers, 1920-1945.
Current News
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- ForeignAffairs.comForeign Affairs is a leading magazine & website covering American foreign policy & international relations. It is relevant for assignments & research projects about policy, political science, economics, public health, & other global issues.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowInternational news from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources.
- World News ConnectionA service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, between 1995 and 2013. The information is obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports.
- World News DigestSearch newspapers and news stories from major newspapers, news magazines, and online news outlets of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world. Useful for background research on current topics, major events in history, and people in the news.
- Cambodia DailyImportant independent news source, from 1993 to 2017. Recent online version lacks the local reporting of the original paper.
- ElevenMyanmarLargest and privately owned and independent news media in Myanmar. Founded in 2000.
- Index to Philippine NewspapersUniversity of the Philippines Main Library's index to newspapers. The database coverings 34 newspapers and more than 230,000 articles.
- Khaosod EnglishKhaosod is a Thai daily newspaper with national circulation. This is the online English version.
- Myanmar TimesEnglish language international newspaper from Myanmar.
- The Star OnlineSince its launch on June 23, 1995, as Malaysia's first news website, The Star Online has always striven to provide readers with up to date breaking news, compelling content and insightful opinions.
- Prachatai EnglishPrachatai (www.prachatai.com) is an independent, non-profit, daily web newspaper established in June 2004 to provide reliable and relevant news and information to the Thai public during an era of serious curbs on the freedom and independence of Thai news media.
- Tuổi TrẻTuổi Trẻ is a major daily newspaper in Vietnam, publishing in Vietnamese from Hồ Chí Minh City. It is the largest newspaper in the country.
- Việt Nam NewsViệt Nam News is an English language daily print newspaper with offices in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh, published by the Vietnam News Agency, the news service of the government of Vietnam.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2024 10:30 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/ea-news