Korean Studies Advanced Guide

Provides materials related to Korean history with both original and translated versions.

This site collaborates the 19 institutes, which have Korean history materials. Therefore, through Hanguksa database, it is possible to search materials that the National Institute of Korean History publishes or has. Korean modern newspaper source, series, and documents are provided. Also, thesaurus is available.

History education site that allows anyone to learn Korean history

Provides sources translated into Korean which are written in Chinese. Provides sources with Korean translation, Chinese texts, and original images.

Full-text of excavation reports, research reports about geography, history, ethnic customs and architecture.

Provides audio material related to Korean history, as well as ancient documents.

Japanese Government General of Korea Online Sources

A digital version of Jiam's Diary.

A database of the Joseon wangjo sillok by the National Taiwan University.

The documents on Korea published before 1945 that are housed at National Library of Korea have mostly been written in Japanese by the Japanese people and printed after an inspection by the Japanese Government-General of Korea. Accordingly, while these materials reflect the biased interests and perspectives of the people of Japan, who colonized and governed over Korea at the time, they still serve as valuable resources that provide insight into pre-liberation Korean society.

This is a digital collection of archives in Kyujanggak.

This digital database consists of scans of over 1,000 printed North Korean posters from the private collection of Willem van der Bijl. Assembled from the turn of the century over the course of a decade, the collection contains posters from the time of the Korean War (1950-53) right through to the 2010s. Attesting to the thriving poster culture of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea), this digital archive is a visual legacy of the DPRK’s ideological, political, economic, social and cultural history.

Japanese Government General of Korea Online Sources

Provides records and minutes about the dialogues between South Korea and North Korea

This collection provides bibliographic information and 165,010 original images of 310,834 government publications published by organizations at each level from 1953 to 2020. In Korean.

The history of Korean magazines can be classified into two general time periods, that of before and after liberation from Japan on August 15, 1945, also known as Liberation Day. This collection covers the first editions of Korean magazines published before Liberation Day, which itself can be subdivided into four time periods: the embryonic period (1896-1909), the military government period (1910-1919), the period of cultural politics (1920-1936), and the Japanese propaganda period (1937-1945).

A database of Seungjeongwon ilgi by the National Taiwan University.

The Joseon wangjo sillok (朝鮮王朝實錄 Veritable Records of the Joseon Dynasty) includes 28 different sets of chronological records, and each set covers one ruler's reign. It was compiled immediately after the death of the ruler in question. As such, the Veritable Records are not the typical history planned and written by a specific individual or team of individuals. The collection covers the reigns of 25 rulers, from King Taejo to King Cheoljong, and spans a period of 472 years.

This digital archive contains several historical documents related to Asia. Examples are: “LOCAL NATIONALISM" IN XINJIANG, 1957-1958," "1988 SEOUL OLYMPIC GAMES," "CHINA AND AFRICA," and "JAPANESE NUCLEAR HISTORY."