Korean Studies Advanced Guide

Online version of Han'guk minjok munhwa tae sajon, the most frequently used encyclopedia on Korean Studies.

Provides encyclopedia of Korean culture by category, type and chronology.

ENCYKOREA categorizes Korean culture into three major areas: general culture, external culture, and internal culture.The general culture describes the nation, geographic space, and history in general, while the external culture describes the appearance of the national culture, such as nature, life, and society. Inner culture, a description of thought, language, and art, describes the splendid cultural heritage and spiritual world of our people.

Korean Romanization Converter has been developed by AI LAB in Pusan National Univ. and NARA INFO TECH Co., Ltd jointly, getting consultation from Prof. Lee, Sang-Oak in Seoul National Univ.

For the aim of sharing and spreading language resources, Web-based Corpus Analysis Tool has three tools: word frequency chart, 공기어(words used together with objectives in the same context) analysis tool, and vocabulary usage finder.

On this page, you will find digitized versions of Chinese, Japanese and Korean printings and manuscripts (dating back to the 7th – 19th century) which are held by the Bavarian State Library (BSB). You can access about 2 million single images.

Provides sources translated into Korean which are written in Chinese. Provides sources with Korean translation, Chinese texts, and original images.

A searchable online catalog with millions of digitized items to browse, including photos, maps and books, from libraries, archives, museums, and cultural institutions around the United States.

Archival materials from the National Library of Korea and the National Diet Library of Japan, including materials on religion, gender, religion, politics and international relations, artistic works, literature, and novels. In Japanese and Korean.

Korean rare books that have been digitized are available online via Harvard-Yenching Library digitized version of Korean Rare Books.

The Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies was established through the combination of the Kyujanggak Archives and the Institute of Korean Studies. Through the preservation, organization, and examination of the materials at the Kyujanggak, the institute focuses on the research of Korean history and culture. The main time period is from the end of the Joseon Dynasty to the beginning of modern times but they also work on expanding our scope of research from materials of the medieval times to post modern times.

The Rare Material Collection of National Library of Korea is divided into Antiquarian Books, Antiquarian Documents, Books, Documents, Serial Publications, Maps and National Treasures & Treasures, etc.

"Ttakjibon novels” was the nickname for guhwaljabon novels. There are several theories over the origin of the name "ttakjibon”. The most widely accepted theory is that because most guhwaljabon novels had colorful book covers, the name was taken from the word "ttakji" (딱지), which were colorful cards used in a Korean children’s game. Ttakjibon novels played a crucial role in the popularization and modernization of reading. Tens of thousands of ttakjibon novels were sold every year in the 1920’s and 1930’s, so they became very well-known throughout Korea.