Korean Studies Advanced Guide

The collections here include a range of East Asian (plus Singapore) newspapers, journals, and magazines published in Chinese, Korean, and Japanese languages from 1850-1950.

KINDS, by far Korea’s largest reservoir of newspaper articles and databases since 1990, provides newspaper articles and search engine services encompassing the 10 nationwide daily newspapers, 25 local daily newspapers, economic and business newspapers, and Internet newspapers being published in Korea. This comprehensive news archive also provides articles from historic newspapers, such as Korea’s first Hanseong Sunbo, The Doknip Shinmun, The Hwangseong Shinmun, and The Maeil Shinmun (www.kinds.or.kr)

The Korea Newspaper Archive by the National Library of Korea provides newspapers from 1883 to 1960, which have important historical values ​​for the study of politics, economy, society, and culture of modern and contemporary Korean history .From 1883 to 1960, 98 newspaper articles (6.2 million) and index (18 million) were built and serviced.

Integrated full text database of Korean historical newspapers published from 1896-1963,

Includes following collections:
Old Korean Gazette (1894-1910)
Assistant Governor-General of Korea (1910-1945)
U.S. Military Government Official (1945-1948)
Official Gazette of the Republic of Korea (1948~2000)
Electronic Gazette of the Republic of Korea (2001~)

Provides a digital archive service for articles published between 1920 and 1999 from major Korean newspapers:
– Tonga ilbo東亞日報: 1920-1999
– Hankyoreh Newspaper : 1988-
– Kyŏnghyang sinmun京鄕新聞= Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
– Maeil kyŏngje sinmun每日經濟新聞= Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999 * In Korean

The Chosun Ilbo is a leading daily newspaper in South Korea and the oldest daily newspaper in the country. With a daily circulation of more than 1,800,000, the Chosun Ilbo has been audited annually since the Audit Bureau of Circulations was established in 1993.

The Choson Sinbo, also known by the name of its English edition The People's Korea, is a newspaper based in Japan, published in both Korean and Japanese.

The Dong-A Ilbo is a newspaper in Korea since 1920 with daily circulation of more than 1.2 million and opinion leaders as its main readers. The English version is https://www.donga.com/en.

Hankook Ilbo is a Korean-language daily newspaper in Seoul, South Korea.

The Hankyoreh is a centre-left daily newspaper in South Korea. It was established in 1988 after widespread purges forced out dissident journalists, and was envisioned as an alternative to existing newspapers, who were regarded as unduly influenced by the authoritarian government at the time.

The JoongAng, formally known as JoongAng Ilbo, is a South Korean daily newspaper published in Seoul, South Korea. It is one of the three biggest newspapers in South Korea, and a newspaper of record for South Korea.

KTV National Broadcasting System (KTV) is a channel established by the Republic of Korea to publicly broadcast the legislative activities of the Korea Policy Broadcasting Service through television.

The Kyunghyang Shinmun or Kyonghyang Sinmun is a major daily newspaper published in South Korea. It is based in Seoul. The name literally means Urbi et Orbi Daily News.

Nate (네이트) is a South Korean web portal, developed by SK Communications

Founded in 2001 by experienced reporters who want to create different media from the established media, Pressian aims to create a high-quality online debate and want to solve complex social phenomena in depth with experts from various fields.

Yonhap News is South Korea's leading news agency. It delivers domestic and overseas news in real time.

Daily NK is a media organization based in Seoul, South Korea, and a provider of news about North Korea from a wide range of sources based inside and outside the country.

Korea.net is the Internet portal that represents the voice of the Korean government and which promotes Korea online.

The Korea Herald is a leading English-language daily newspaper founded in 1953 and published in Seoul, South Korea.

The Korea JoongAng Daily is an English-language daily published by the JoongAng Group, Korea's leading media group, in association with The New York Times.

Korean Quarterly is a non-profit quarterly newspaper, written by and about the Korean American community of the Twin Cities and upper Midwest, including first and second generation Korean Americans and their families (including non-Korean family members), adopted Koreans and their families, and bi-racial/bi-cultural Korean American people.

The daily is well-regarded for its news services of international and business, economic and financial news. It is the most influential and the oldest independent English-language daily in Korea.

Online newspaper for North Korea, presents breaking local news, the top stories, business headlines and North Korea weather.