Find digital scores
You've probably used IMSLP and maybe even the Choral Public Domain Library in the past to access PDF copies of digital scores. This tab provides links to additional resources, both subscription databases that the Libraries pays for and other free, open access resources, that may help in your search for digital scores. Check below this list of links for more information on how to use several of these resources!
- A-R Online Music AnthologyClick on the large button that says ‘Click here to enter the A-R Anthology website’ for our site license session to begin. A database of music scores containing vocal and instrumental compositions from antiquity through the nineteenth century. The database has been designed for use in music history classes. Searching criteria include composer, title, genere, language, historical period and language. All selections are available for printing.
- Digital Mozart EditionA Project of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and The Packard Humanities Institute, this database include high quality PDFs of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe.
- Music Online: Classical Scores LibraryMusic Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
- Sheet Music ConsortiumThe Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public. The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting. Harvested metadata about sheet music in participating collections is hosted by UCLA Digital Library Program, which provides an access service via this metadata to sheet music records at the host libraries. Data providers have chosen to catalog their sheet music in different ways, but a large proportion of the original sheets in participating collections has been digitized, allowing users direct access to the music itself and in many cases covers and advertisements that offer evidence of the cultural context in which the songs were published. This project has been generously supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
- Contemporary Music Score Collection, UCLA Music LibraryPublished by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
Tips for using A-R Music Anthology
The A-R Music Anthology is a great place to look for scores AND peer-reviewed articles on individual composers, styles, and pieces!
The search interface gives users the option to limit by period (antiquity through 20th century), genre (looking for opera? Motets? Jazz? Use the options in this list to browse the Anthology's holdings), and even to browse by form and texture (this is especially helpful if you have a set ensemble and are looking for rep!):
This is a new and growing resource, so browsing by composer name is also a helpful way to search its contents. Use the "Quick Search By Composer" option at the bottom of the search interface to see what's included.
All of the A-R Music Anthology scores are newly-engraved, and users can print directly from the interface:
The inclusion of peer-reviewed articles on composers, pieces, genres, and styles is also extremely helpful! By choosing a period from the A-R Music Anthology search interface, you can see a list of all of the articles included in the resource:
The A-R Music Anthology is continuously growing, so check back often for new articles and scores.
Tips for using Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library is a great resource for finding thousands of digital scores, from medieval music through compositions from the 21st century. The search interface offers a number of ways to find content: you can browse by genre, time period, composer, and more, or you can search for a known item. Just remember to use the search box in the MIDDLE of the page (not the one at the top!):
After searching in Classical Scores Library, you'll see a list of results - click the link under a piece's title to see the score for that piece:
The scores interface in Classical Scores Library offers the option to print, but the score will include an Alexander Street Press watermark. Classical Scores Library also provides helpful information for citing the score:
Questions? Need help?
Please contact Music Librarian Jessica Abbazio (jabbazio@umn.edu) or the Music Library staff (musiclib@umn.edu) for help!