Guide to Research for the Wind Conducting Studio

• ML402: History and Criticism, Biography, Conductors
  • This section includes compilation biographies grouped by subject, e.g. band leaders, conductors of the 21st century, African-American conductors
• ML422: History and Criticism, Biography, Conductors, A-Z
  • This section includes biographies of individual conductors)
• ML457: History and Criticism, Interpretation - Performance Practice
• ML459-ML1351: Instruments and Instrumental Music
  • ML458: History and Criticism, Conducting
  • ML1270:  History and Criticism, Band Music
  • ML1300-ML1306: History and Criticism, Special  Periods
    • This section includes writings on band music by time period, including early to 1800, 1800-1900, and 1900-present
  • ML1310-ML1351: History and Criticism, Band Music by Region or Country​
    • This section also includes histories of specific types of ensembles, e.g. marching band, military band, etc.
• MT85: Conducting, Score Reading and Playing (includes instruction and study)
• MT125: Analysis and appreciation of musical works, Orchestral Music

Want an overview of conducting-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Make sure to check out these specific titles:

• Battisti, Frank L. The New Winds of Change: The Evolution of the Contemporary American Wind Band/Ensemble and its Music. Delray Beach, FL: Meredith Music Publications, 2018.
• General Collection, ML1311.5 .B391 2018  
   
• Blocher, Larry R., Eugene Migliaro Corporon, Ray Cramer, Tim Lautzenheiser, Edward S. Lisk, and Richard Miles. Teaching Music through Performance through Band, Vols. 1-11. Compiled and edited by Richard Miles. Chicago: GIA Publications, 1997-2018.
  General Collection Quarto, MT125 .T43 1997 v. 1-11
   
• Conductors Anthology: A Compendium of Articles from the Instrumentalist from 1946 to 1992 on the Administrative Side of Being a School Music Director. 2nd ed. Northfield, IL: The Instrumentalist Company, 1993.
• General Collection, Quarto MT85 .C75 1993 v. 1-2
   
• Corporon, Eugene Migliaro. Teaching Music through Performance in Band: Solos with Wind Band Accompaniment, A Compendium of Compositions. Compiled and edited by Richard Miles. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2012.
• General Collection, MT135 .C67 2012
   
• Rosewall, Michael. Directory of Choral-Orchestral Music. Paperback ed. New York: Routledge, 2016.
• General Collection, ML128.C48 R67 2016  

• Whitwell, David. American Music Education: The Enigma and the Solution. Edited by Craig Dabelstein. Austin, TX: Whitwell Publishing, 2016.
• General Collection, MT3.U5 W53 2016
  ​
• Whitwell, David. The Art of Musical Conducting. 2nd ed. Austin, TX: Whitwell, Books, 2011.
• General Collection, MT85 .W45 2011
   
• Whitwell, David. A Concise History of the Wind Band. Edited by Craig Dabelstein. 2nd ed. History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble. Austin, TX: Whitwell Publishing, 2010.
  General Collection, ML1300 .W447 2010
   
• Whitwell, David. Essays on the Modern Wind Band. Edited by Craig Dabelstein. Austin, TX: Whitwell Publishing, 2013.
• General Collection, ML1300 .W55 2013 
   
• Whitwell, David. Essays on Performance Practice. Edited by Craig Dabelstein. Austin, TX: Whitwell Publishing, 2013.
• General Collection, ML457 .W48 2013
  ​


• Whitwell, David. The History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble. History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble. Northridge, CA: Winds, 1982.
  Vols. 1-9: General Collection, Quarto ML1300 .W56 1982  
  AND 
  ​Whitwell, David. The History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble. Edited by Craig Dabelstein. 2nd ed. History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble. Austin, TX: Whitwell Publishing, 2012.
  ​Vols. 10-13: General Collection, ML 1300 .W56 2012
  • Vol. 1: The Wind Band and Wind Ensemble before 1500
  • Vol. 2: The Renaissance Wind Band and Wind Ensemble
  • Vol. 3: The Baroque Wind Band and Wind Ensemble
  • Vol. 4: The Wind Band and Wind Ensemble of hte Classic Era
  • Vol. 5: The Nineteenth-Century Wind Band and Wind Ensemble
  • Vol. 6: A Catalog of Multi-Part Repertoire for Wind Instruments or for Undesignated Instrumentation before 1600
  • Vol. 7: Baroque Wind Band and Wind Ensemble Repertoire
  • Vol. 8: Classical Period Wind Band and Wind Ensemble Repertoire
  • Vol. 9: Nineteenth-Century Wind Band and Wind Ensemble Repertoire
  • Vol. 10: A Supplementary Catalog of Wind Band and Wind Ensemble Repertoire
  • Vol. 11: A Catalog of Wind Repertoire Before the Twentieth Century for One to Five Players
  • Vol. 12: A Second Supplementary Catalog of Early Wind Band and Wind Ensemble Repertoire
  • Vol. 13: Name Index, Volumes 1-12, The History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble​
    ​
• Whitwell, David. Psychological Problems in Conducting. Austin, TX: Whitwell Books, 2016.
• General Collection, MT85 .W55 2016
  ​
• Whitwell, David. Wagner on Bands. Edited by Craig Dabelstein. 2nd ed. Austin, TX: Whitwell Books, 2011.
• Quarto, ML410.W19 W55 1993 
   
• Whitwell, David, and Craig Dabelstein. Berlioz on Bands: A Compliation of Berlioz's Writings on Bands and Wind Instruments. 2nd ed. Austin, TX: Whitwell Books, 2012.
• General Collection, ML1304 .B47 2012
   
• Whitwell, David, and Craig Dabelstein. The Sousa Oral History Project. Austin, TX: Whitwell Publishing, 2010.
• General Collection, ML421.S657 W45 2010​

Interested in browsing conducting-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

Journal of the Conductors' Guild

• Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
   

Canadian winds

• Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
• Available online through Music Periodicals Database (find a link for Music Periodicals Database on the Music-Related Databases Guide)
  

The Journal of Band Research

• Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
• Available online through Music Periodicals Database (find a link for Music Periodicals Database on the Music-Related Databases Guide)