Guide to Research for the Wind Conducting Studio

Hymn tunes were one of European classical music’s chief conduits to American audiences through the mid-19th century. Hymnnodic adaptations of the work of Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, and others appeared by the hundreds, all but a few forgotten today. 278 of these tunes—unearthed, identified, and edited for modern use—are gathered in this Anthology of scores and piano recordings.

AmericanClassicalHymns.com was developed in tandem with the book Gems of Exquisite Beauty: How Hymnody Carried Classical Music to America (Oxford University Press, 2020), the first in-depth historical exploration of this repertoire and its creators.

Published by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.

A Project of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and The Packard Humanities Institute, this database include high quality PDFs of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe.

The English Heritage Music Series has been created to ensure that previously unpublished pieces from the “renaissance” in English music (generally agreed to have started in the late Victorian period, beginning roughly in 1880) are preserved, are accessible for scholarly research and, most importantly, are available for performance by future generations. Its mission is to source non-engraved/out-of-print English composer compositions that are in the U.S. public domain; preserve these compositions through the preparation of performance scores using notation software; and provide open Internet access to the scores to facilitate study, performance and sharing of performance material (program notes, audio, reviews, etc.)

The HathiTrust Women Composers Collection consists of digitized sheet music for approximately 3,000 musical works by more than 700 women composers. Most date from the 19th- and early 20th-centuries, with a few pieces from the 18th century. Some of the published scores include annotations by the composer, while there are also several hundred in manuscript form. The originals are from the University of Michigan Music Library, which purchased most of the collection in 1980 from a British antiquarian. Visitors can sort the materials by author name, date, or title using the drop-down "Sort by" feature above the listings. Most of the musical compositions featured in the collection are songs and solo piano pieces, although choral, orchestral, dramatic, and chamber music are also present in the collection. About 80 percent of the collection is available full-text through HathiTrust, which means that the music can be downloaded and printed. In addition to being of interest to musicians and music scholars, the covers of many of the pieces are illustrated and some include ornate text, providing examples of 19th- and 20th-century graphic design.

A comprehensive index of over 1 million hymn texts, hymn tunes, and hymnals, with information on authors, composers, lyrics, and scores. Search or browse hymns by title, tune, meter, key, scripture reference, and more; find hymns that relate to a particular lectionary week, topic, or part of worship, and hymnals that have been published by particular denominations; and search, view, and visualize Hymnary data in creative ways.

The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public. The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting. Harvested metadata about sheet music in participating collections is hosted by UCLA Digital Library Program, which provides an access service via this metadata to sheet music records at the host libraries. Data providers have chosen to catalog their sheet music in different ways, but a large proportion of the original sheets in participating collections has been digitized, allowing users direct access to the music itself and in many cases covers and advertisements that offer evidence of the cultural context in which the songs were published. This project has been generously supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.