Diversity and Sustainability in Business

IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

A monthly data release that includes the employment status of the civilian population by race, sex, and age. Covers participation rates, # of employed, employment-population ratios, # of unemployed, unemployment rate, and # not in the labor force.

A monthly survey of the payroll records of business establishments that provides data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers at the national level. Specifically, find data on the employment of women by industry sector.

Aggregates company diversity reports and data on racial, ethnic, gender, and sexual orientation representation at top companies

Published March 1, 2021
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) requires that University of Minnesota users create personal accounts using UMN e-mail address (@umn.edu). Use the link below to complete the registration process:
URL: https://wsj.com/umntc

Published by Mckinsey & Co. February 2021
This report explores Black workers in the private sector in three parts: first, their participation in the entire US private-sector economy; second, their representation, advancement, and experience in companies; and third, a path forward that includes the key challenges to address, actions companies can take, and additional actions for a wider set of stakeholders to accelerate progress on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DE&I).

Provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.

The Annual Business Survey (ABS) measures research and development for microbusinesses, innovation and technology, and provides annual data on select economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by sex, ethnicity, race and veterans status.

BoardSource’s series of studies tracking and analyzing trends in nonprofit board leadership composition, organization, conduct, & performance.

Produced in partnership with CHANGE Philanthropy and Emerging Practitioners in Philanthropy (EPIP), the report and accompanying infographic explore diversity in the philanthropic workforce.

Published by MN Dept of Employment & Economic Development (DEED), the Quarterly Employment Demographics (QED) data tool provides job distribution statistics, median hourly wage, and median hours per quarter broken down by gender and age, available by industry and geography.

Published by the MN State Demographic Center, find data & featured reports on state labor force participation trends by age and gender from 2015 projected to 2050.

Published by The MN Dept of Employment & Economic Development (DEED) based on data from the 2012 SBO

Published by the MN Secretary of State, these reports provide economic indicators including the percent of new business filings by communities of color, the immigrant & disabled community, women and veterans, etc.