Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for GSD 3451W/RUSS 3311W: Major Project Seminar
Find Books & More
TIPS FOR FINDING BOOKS AND BOOK CHAPTERS
- When looking for books and book chapters:
- First, search Libraries Search and/or the Library Catalog which will show what UMN Libraries have.
- If not found, then search WorldCat which includes materials held at other libraries. Click on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to make a request.
- What is the difference between Libraries Search and the Library Catalog? Libraries Search includes all items in the Library Catalog but it also includes articles. The Library Catalog includes print books, eBooks, DVDs, journals, and other formats but NOT articles.
- With Advanced Searching, you can limit results to a specific languge, date range and more.
- For Russian, alway starts with a transliterated search with Latin letters.
- If you can't find a book chapter, you can submit a book chapter request via interlibrary loan. You'll get a PDF scan usually within a week. This is a look quicker than requesting the whole book.
- You can request digital delivery scans of parts of books in UMN Collections. To do so fill out an interlibrary loan/digital delivery request
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Click on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to make a request.
Other Major Library Catalogs
For additional catalogs, consult the European Library Catalogs
- British LibraryAllows you to search the British Library's main catalog, website, and articles
- Der Deutsche NationalbibliothekGermany National Library catalog
- EuropeanaSingle access point to millions of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing email@example.com.
- Center for Research LibrariesCRL holds over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. Holdings include such diverse materials as 800,000 doctoral dissertations (including those of Albert Einstein, Dag Hammarskjold and other Nobel laureates), some of the earliest African-American newspapers and the 100,000-plus-page archive of Cambodia's Khmer Rouge security force. Emphasis is on materials produced outside the United States, and the Center has special strength in publications and archives from many developing nations.
- Karlsruhe Virtual KatalogAllows you to search German, Austrian, Swiss, and other European library catalogs as well as book dealers simultaneously. Interface in English or German.
- Österreichische NationalbibliothekAustrian National Library Catalog
- Российская национальная библиотекаRussian National Library
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2023 11:15 AM