Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Use this guide to assist you with completing your assignments for HIST 3615W: Gender, Work, and Livelihood: Women in European History: 1500 to the Present
Reference Databases
- Gale EbooksSearch encyclopedias and reference books from various publishers in many subjects, including art, biography, business, cultural studies, education, the environment, history, religion, science, and social science.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks contain peer-reviewed scholarly review articles in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion. In particular, see The Oxford Handbook of Women and the Economy.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Sage KnowledgeSearches all library subscriptions from Sage Publishing including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- WikipediaCiting Wikipedia is generally not acceptable for research papers, however, it is a great starting point to get background information and can lead to scholarly and primary sources. Also, see Academic Use of Wikipedia
Women's Lives Around the World by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781610697125Publication Date: 2018Providing an in-depth look at the lives of women and girls in approximately 150 countries, this multivolume reference set offers readers transnational and postcolonial analysis of the many issues that are critical to the success of women and girls.
Select Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of European Social History by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780684315140Publication Date: 2005Reference on European social history including more than 230 articles on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health
Europe 1789 to 1914 : encyclopedia of the age of industry and empire by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780684314969Publication Date: 2006Presents the history of Europe from the Renaissance, the printing revolution, and the Protestant Reformation in the 1400s and 1500s through the Scientific Revolution of the 1600s, and the Enlightenment and the French Revolution of the 1700s.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195148909Publication Date: 2008The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history.
Political and Historical Encyclopedia of Women by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780203505939Publication Date: 2003
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 4:01 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/HIST/3615W