Resources for: Art and Art History

Search for articles in fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. Limited to 20 simultaneous users. Includes the following journals: American Art, Art Bulletin, Beaux Arts Magazine, Art Documentation, and more.

Search journal articles, magazines, reviews, and more on western and European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 including painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.

Search the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.

Discover 161,819 images, maps, manuscripts, video, audio, and more. UMedia provides open access to digitized materials from across the University of Minnesota.

Useful for general information on artists and art terminology.
The most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.

Use Oxford Bibliographies to find scholarship on a variety of subjects including Art History. Entries provide subject summaries followed by an annotated bibliography.

Art Index Retrospective covers 55 years (from 1929-1984) of art journalism and research from leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, resources include data from yearbooks and select museum bulletins.

Index and abstracts of articles from periodical articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and index entries for dissertations. Covers all aspects of late 19th and 20th century art, including decorative and applied art, with particular reference to photography and three-dimensional design.

Find full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. Includes Oxford Art Journal and Women's Art Journal.

Find books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.

HathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing wilsref@umn.edu.

Full-page, digital archive of the New York Times. The archive runs from 1851 to 4 years ago. Search and view images of articles, advertising, photos, and more (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).

Full-text coverage of the New York Times to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)