Digital image collections guide

A comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and more.

30,000 historical lithographs, photographs, engravings, slides and other illustrative resources of 20th century physicists and astronomers available online from the Niels Bohr Library and Archives.

Hubble Telescope images from the Space Telescope Science Institute; search for images by term of browse by categories including galaxies, solar system, nebulae, stars, the universe, and more.

An online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images, videos, and audio files.

A collection of astronomical images taken with NOAO instruments, as well as photographs of NOAO telescopes and facilities.

A collection of astronomical images taken with NRAO instruments, as well as the Radio Image of the Week archive.

World's leading provider of science and medicine images and video. Images cover science, technology & industry, space & astronomy, history of science & medicine and more.

The Science and Society Picture Library represents the visual content of the Science Museum Group based in London. The collection covers aeronautics, chemistry, optics, physics, space technology, rocketry and more.

This website presents data, pictures and more from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey, a project to make a map of a large part of the universe.

30,000 historical lithographs, photographs, engravings, slides and other illustrative resources of 20th century physicists and astronomers available online from the Niels Bohr Library and Archives.

Particle physics images and photographs of Berkley Lab past and present, hosted by the University of California, Berkeley.

An online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images, videos, and audio files.

Physics in Pictures features exciting illustrations of nature's infinite variety and humankind's ingenuity. Each picture is accompanied by a brief explanation and links to a story on related current physics research.

The Science and Society Picture Library represents the visual content of the Science Museum Group based in London. The collection covers aeronautics, chemistry, optics, physics, space technology, rocketry and more.

Online maps from the collections at the Library of Congress.

Historical digital map images from the University of Minnesota's James Ford Bell Library.

The historical map collection has over 100,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.

Photographs from the latitude and longitude integer degree intersections in the world.

The U.S. Geological Survey has a collection of over 500,000 taken in the process of doing geologic research in the United States and U.S. territories from 1868 to the present. This website provides free downloads of selected images from the collection.

Earth Science World Image Bank has over 6,000 geoscience images.

The U.S. Geological Survey's Earth Resources Observation and Science Data Center stores and distributes a variety of data, including cartographic, satellite, and aircraft data. Their image gallery includes Landsat and shaded relief images of U.S. states.

Provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

Hubble Telescope images from the Space Telescope Science Institute; search for images by term of browse by categories including galaxies, solar system, nebulae, stars, the universe, and more.

This site can be used to access images from the USGS's Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.

Images of the earth from the U.S. Geological Survey; see the mesmerizing beauty of river deltas, mountains, and other sandy, salty, and icy landscapes.

Extensive online map collections from the University of Texas at Austin.

Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.

Historical digital map images from the University of Minnesota's James Ford Bell Library.

The historical map collection has over 100,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.

The U.S. Geological Survey has a collection of over 500,000 taken in the process of doing geologic research in the United States and U.S. territories from 1868 to the present. This website provides free downloads of selected images from the collection.

Earth Science World Image Bank has over 6,000 geoscience images.

The U.S. Geological Survey's Earth Resources Observation and Science Data Center stores and distributes a variety of data, including cartographic, satellite, and aircraft data. Their image gallery includes Landsat and shaded relief images of U.S. states.

This site can be used to access images from the USGS's Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.

Collections from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, featuring weather and space images, images of Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images.

Images of the earth from the U.S. Geological Survey; see the mesmerizing beauty of river deltas, mountains, and other sandy, salty, and icy landscapes.

Extensive online map collections from the University of Texas at Austin.

Search or browse over 13,000 images from space history and the "Today in Space History" archives.

An online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images, videos, and audio files.

A comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and more.

Multimedia resources about kinematics – the geometry of pure motion – and the history and theory of machines. The core of KMODDL is the Reuleaux Collection of Mechanisms and Machines, a collection of 19th-century machine elements held by Cornell University.

LSDA contains information, images, and data from life sciences missions, experiments, and related ground control studies from the 1960's to the present

Collections from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, featuring weather and space images, images of Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images.

Collections of materials from Library of Congress, including the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS).

A gallery of images from the extensive collection of the Library and Archives at the Institution of Civil Engineers; includes portraits, paintings and photographs, as well as plates, drawings and illustrations. The images date from the 1700s onwards.