Digital image collections guide

Collections from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, featuring weather and space images, images of Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images.

The U.S. Geological Survey's multimedia gallery contains photos, descriptions, and additional information of USGS science.

A series of labeled diagrams with explanations representing the important processes of biotechnology including; From Gene to Function --Building Blocks: Structure and Function --Chromosomes and Cell Division --Cell Processes.

Films and photos of the world's endangered species.

A visual resource of over 50,000 images from the American Society of Mammalogists.

NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies, including the RNA 3D Motif Atlas and other images.

Offers the widest series of electron micrographs available on the web in the field of biology: over 1600 images are currently available in high resolution.

This resource from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences provides visualization at the cellular and subcellular level to understand cell structure and function and how they are dynamically regulated.

The Micropolitan Museum online exhibits captured images of micro-organisms.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites. Click on the "multimedia" tab in your search results for images.

This USDA resource covers the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.

University of Washington's Structural Informatics Group's interactive atlas contains graphical and symbolic representations of human anatomy, includes 2-D and 3-D images.

Drawn from the collections of the National Library of Medicine, this site depicts the anatomical imagination from 1500 to the present.

Illustrations from Henry Gray's 1918 work "Anatomy of the Human Body."

These unique sets of several hundred images from the 5,000 volume John Martin Rare Book Room have been selected from some of the more striking works in the collection and include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics.

Films and photos of the world's endangered species.

An online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images, videos, and audio files.

The Animal Science Image Gallery is a collaborative project of the USDA National Agricultural Library and the American Society of Animal Science.

A visual resource of over 50,000 images from the American Society of Mammalogists.

The University of Pittsburgh digitized their complete double elephant folio set of Audubon’s "Birds of America," accompanied by his "Ornithological Biography."

The world-wide bird photography collection of The Academy of Natural Sciences has more than 180,000 photographs representing over 7,300 species.

Natural history images of nonhuman primates from the National Primate Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Images from the University of Washington Library's Digital Collections related to freshwater and marine topics. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects.

Collection of over 6,000 nature and wildlife photos provided by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Includes birds, plants, habitats, environmental sciences, wildlife refuges, and more.

Search images from the University of Michigan's amphibian, mammal, and fish collections.

The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.

The Animal Science Image Gallery is a collaborative project of the USDA National Agricultural Library and the American Society of Animal Science.

This gallery contains over 6,500 high-quality digital images from the Agricultural Research Service Office of Communications.

Collections from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, featuring weather and space images, images of Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images.

Photos from the Weed Science Society of America of many common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.

An image gallery of various plant disease and damage.

Plant Image Gallery is an ongoing project of the Noble Foundation which currently includes over 600 species of vascular plants.

A collection of information and images to illustrate the distribution, properties, ecological significance, and the use of the twelve soil orders from the University of Idaho.

The U.S. Geological Survey's multimedia gallery contains photos, descriptions, and additional information of USGS science.

This gallery contains over 6,500 high-quality digital images from the Agricultural Research Service Office of Communications.

These images cover Plant Geography, Plant Morphology, Phloem Development, Xylem Development, Floral Ontogeny, Lichens, Economic Botany, Carnivorous Plants, Organography, Pollen, Paleobotany, Plant Defense Mechanisms and Plant Anatomy.

Nearly 400,000 images of plants compiled by the University of California Berkeley.

More than 4000 images of more than 2000 plants.

Plant Image Gallery is an ongoing project of the Noble Foundation which currently includes over 600 species of vascular plants.

Photos from the Weed Science Society of America of many common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.

An image gallery of various plant disease and damage.

This USDA resource covers the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Digitized selections from a variety of Special Collections' rare books, nursery and seed trade catalogs, and manuscript collections. Each image is a digital reproduction of the original artwork or written text.

Organized by plant type, the TPDH includes definitions of plant diseases as well as images for some but not all pathologies.

This collection consists of botany images and videos, as well as unique or valuable items related to botany held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.

The Russian-English Agricultural Atlas is the world’s most comprehensive source of information on the geographic distribution of plant-based agriculture in Russia and neighboring countries. Includes maps, illustrations and more.

This gallery contains over 6,500 high-quality digital images from the Agricultural Research Service Office of Communications.

These images cover Plant Geography, Plant Morphology, Phloem Development, Xylem Development, Floral Ontogeny, Lichens, Economic Botany, Carnivorous Plants, Organography, Pollen, Paleobotany, Plant Defense Mechanisms and Plant Anatomy.

Nearly 400,000 images of plants compiled by the University of California Berkeley.

Digitized selections from a variety of Special Collections' rare books, nursery and seed trade catalogs, and manuscript collections. Each image is a digital reproduction of the original artwork or written text.

More than 4000 images of more than 2000 plants.

Photos from the Weed Science Society of America of many common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.

This USDA resource covers the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

An image gallery of various plant disease and damage.

Plant Image Gallery is an ongoing project of the Noble Foundation which currently includes over 600 species of vascular plants.

A collection of information and images to illustrate the distribution, properties, ecological significance, and the use of the twelve soil orders from the University of Idaho.

This collection consists of botany images and videos, as well as unique or valuable items related to botany held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.

The Russian-English Agricultural Atlas is the world’s most comprehensive source of information on the geographic distribution of plant-based agriculture in Russia and neighboring countries. Includes maps, illustrations and more.

The American Phytopathological Society has thousands of images showing disease symptoms, pests, and other disorders associated with plants and crops. All images are browsable, however only open access images can be downloaded without a subscription.

These images cover Plant Geography, Plant Morphology, Phloem Development, Xylem Development, Floral Ontogeny, Lichens, Economic Botany, Carnivorous Plants, Organography, Pollen, Paleobotany, Plant Defense Mechanisms and Plant Anatomy.

Over 11,00 images of fungi compiled by the University of California Berkeley.

Browse images showing foliage, root, and butt diseases by photographer, organization and location.

This site is a compilation of direct links to many [+3500] of the best fungi photos on the web.

Browse images by commodity, taxonomy, damage types, photographers, organization, location.

Information and images about crops from U of M Extension, including images of diseases and insects affecting them.

A portal to various websites with photos of fungi.

This site is rich in mushroom photography. There over 8,200 fungal photographs to view with over 7,900 of these illustrating the species of "The Fungi of California."

Photos from the Weed Science Society of America of many common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.

This USDA resource covers the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

An image gallery of various plant disease and damage.

Organized by plant type, the TPDH includes definitions of plant diseases as well as images for some but not all pathologies.

Photos and descriptions of plant diseases in the state of Georgia.

A collection of about 9,000 photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States. Subjects include logging operations, logging equipment, reforestation, forest research, fire protection, lumber mills, and the activities of the University of California's School of Forestry.

Images on this site cover invasive species, forestry, agriculture, integrated pest management, plants, insects, diseases, fungi, wildlife, fire and other natural resource issues.