Photographs from the Gottscho-Schleisner Collection, at the Library of Congress. The collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors.
The E. F. Caldwell & Co. Collection at the Smithsonian Libraries, consists of photographs and original design drawings of lighting fixtures and other fine metal objects that they produced from the late 19th to the mid-20th centuries.
Archnet is an open-access intellectual resource of photos, writings, timeline, and maps focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.
Panoramic views of important sites in European and American cities. Includes historical cathedrals and works of art, museums featuring famous artists, local cafes and stores, mountain-top views, parks and gardens.
Archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials, built around the villa, an important landscape type in garden history. Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
The archives documents the architecture, engineering, and arts associated with the built environment of Columbus, Indiana and Bartholomew County. The archives' collection includes materials on both Historical and Modernist projects, including many of the 60 plus designs by world famous architects of the last half century that are located in Bartholomew County.
Large online Art encyclopedia including peer reviewed articles with images, artist biographies, background on famous works, genres, etc. Useful for Art history, different art forms, geography, time period and more. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Explore the distinctive architectural style of the Las Vegas Strip. Not only has this architecture transformed the physical environment of Las Vegas, it has become a leitmotif for post-modern architecture.
Provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
"This website offers an archive of over 4000 images of patterns and other design features drawn from the rich cultural heritage of the Islamic world. Historically, the decorative arts have always formed a major part of Islamic aesthetic expression."
The Speculum Romanae Magnificentiae is a collection of engravings of Rome and Roman antiquities, the core of which consists of prints published by Antonio Lafreri and gathered under a title page he printed in the mid-1570's. The University of Chicago Library's copy contains nearly 1,000 prints and is the largest in the world.
Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images from institutional sources contributed for use in learning, teaching and research. Includes art, design, architecture, decorative art, fashion. UK-based.
Includes Cartography, Fine Arts, Architecture, Photography, and other image. Digital image collections from Museums, Universities and private collections throughout the world - Cartography Associates (David Rumsey)
A collection of 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States. The photographs in the collection were created between 1891 and 1936 by faculty members and students in the Department of Botany of the University of Chicago.
This collection from New York Public Library includes over 200 large albumen prints from the 1860s and 1870s of American Western landscape, including views of Yosemite Valley and the route of the Union Pacific Railroad through the Rocky Mountains.
The Environmental Design Archives holds nearly 100 collections documenting the built and landscaped environment. These records span a century, 1890-1990, and contain primary source materials such as correspondence, reports, specifications, drawings, photographs, and artifacts.
Approximately 15,000 images from the Art Institute of Chicago that document the architecture, landscape and urban planning of sites across the United States—with a particular emphasis on Chicago and its suburbs.
A listing of dozens of online resources that cover the entire span of the history of fashion. Children's, men's, ethnic & folk fashions as well as military arms and armor and all types of cosmetics and accessories are also covered.
Illustrations from the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century. These images reflect the metamorphosis of women's fashion from the 1920s through the 1970s from the Gimbel Art and Design Library
An index of over 18,000 watercolor renderings of American folk and decorative art objects, including woodcarvings, textiles, whirligigs, weathervanes, and other objects from thirty-four states in the US.
A comprehensive archive of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution, full color images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover is included.
Search and use hundreds of images with "no known copyright restrictions." A joint venture of Flickr and the Library of Congress, Flickr Commons was designed to increase access to publicly-held photography collections.
A large collection of photos and images made available by the U.S. government. ost of these images and graphics are available for use in the public domain, and they may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license. We strongly recommend you thoroughly read the disclaimers on each site before use. For information about obtaining seals of Federal Agencies and the United States, please see the Government Printing Office website.
Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Over 16,000 images of past winners of the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA) annual competitions in the areas of Book, Brand and Corporate Identity, Promotional, Information, Package and Typographical design from 1950's to the present.
An important, collaborative effort between the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History and Duke University's Digital Scriptorium provides images of over 9,000 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920. The site is designed to chronicle the rise of consumer culture in America in the late nineteenth century as well as the development of a professionalized advertising industry.
Over 600 historical and health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1910-1959; categories include cigarettes, vitamins and tonics, diet, and more From Duke University Libraries digital collections.
HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. It focuses on artistic and cultural materials.